A Dance with Peplum

2 Sep

Over the weekend, I took my Urban Outfitters peplum blazer for a test spin. It’s the same one that Chloe and  AlterationsNeeded wrote about, but in a different pattern.

I’ve always wanted a peplum jacket because it’s figure flattering and it mimics the body’s natural curves. It’s an unlined knit jacket that has a bit of stretch. The buttons were loosely attached so I re-attached them because I like a sturdy set of buttons. The casual gingham pattern seems stands out more than the herringbone one. And though it’s a little unusual, I like it.

I think the blazer works best with high-waisted bottoms, but since I don’t own any (aside from mom shorts), I improvised with my straight leg jeans.

Outfit Details: Urban Outfitters peplum blazer – XS, Forever 21 tube top – XS, GapKids Super Skinny Jeans -12R, American Eagle belt, Free People watch pendant, Forever 21 boot

15 Responses to “A Dance with Peplum”

  1. PetiteAsianGirl September 2, 2010 at 7:49 AM #

    I like this print on you! I also have those same jeans in the medium blue wash. The fit is not perfect all around but I was happy with them. Did they shrink on you after washing?

    • Stylepint September 2, 2010 at 1:31 PM #

      I like the GAPkids jeans and they didn’t shrink. Then again, I don’t put it in the dryer, I just let it air dry.

  2. Good Girl Gone Blog September 2, 2010 at 8:53 AM #

    It looks GREAT on you!

  3. Elle September 2, 2010 at 11:29 AM #

    I really like the jacket on you, I am not the biggest fan of this particular kind of gingham pattern but I think on you it looks simple but sophisticated? Did you happen to get some pictures of the back? In Kelly’s post she posed some pictures of the back and I think it’s just gorgeous. I am so close to pulling the trigger on this jacket and I think I am going to get the pattern you got. Thanks for the review.

    • Stylepint September 2, 2010 at 1:32 PM #

      Thanks! I don’t have photos of the back yet, but I’ll put them up when I have a chance. =)

  4. PetiteXXS September 2, 2010 at 2:11 PM #

    I feel stupid but for some reason I always thought peplum was a type of fabric 😛 But now I know better! I think this print stands out more and it really does seem more “you” than the lighter herringbone.

  5. Alterations Needed September 2, 2010 at 6:44 PM #

    Looks great on you! Geez, you make me want to get that pattern too! I freakin’ love that jacket. =D

  6. SewPetiteGal September 2, 2010 at 8:03 PM #

    All of you blogging fashionistas make this jacket look sooooo cute! I really like the unbuttoned look on you 🙂

  7. PetiteLittleGirl September 3, 2010 at 7:07 AM #

    I ordered the exact same jacket. I am going to do a review for it tomorrow. I love it. It looks great on you. Don’t you love the fit?

    • Stylepint September 3, 2010 at 5:46 PM #

      Ohh! I can’t wait to see your review! I love the fit and it has a nice stretch to it too.

  8. Callandra September 3, 2010 at 2:47 PM #

    Looks so great on you! I love this outfit.

  9. MizzJ September 3, 2010 at 8:24 PM #

    You look adorable!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peplum Blazer Revisited « Stylepint: Pint-Sized Musings - September 15, 2010

    […] item, I try to think of three outfits before purchasing it to make it worth my money. Aside from the casual look, I wanted to glam it up for the […]

  2. Urban Outfitters Peplum Jacket Overload – Preview by Q - June 26, 2017

    […] for racial diversity ; ) 2. Vicky’s Daily Fashion Blog 3. Petite Little Girl 4. PetiteXXS 5. Pint-sized Musings 6. Frm From Head To Toe 7. Yours Truly 8. (not pictured) […]

  3. Urban Outfitters Peplum Jacket Overload – Extra Petite - July 1, 2017

    […] for racial diversity ; ) 2. Vicky’s Daily Fashion Blog 3. Petite Little Girl 4. PetiteXXS5. Pint-sized Musings6. Frm From Head To Toe7. Yours Truly 8. (not pictured) […]

Leave a comment