My Latest Finds at J.Crew

3 Feb

I shouldn’t really be clothes shopping, but I do need a couple updates for my office attire. It’s so boring, I wanted something new. So, I ventured into J.Crew again despite knowing that things might not fit properly. The two things I wanted was the skimmer pant and the silk streamers top.

Petite Skimmer Pant

When I first saw these pants, I thought they looked great. A nice slim ankle length pant that’d be perfect for work. They came in 00p and I had to try them. On the model, it looks so nice, but what about on me?

It wasn’t very flattering at all. I know it’s not just the camera angle that makes this pant look so dowdy.

The length was ok, but the way it accentuated my hips and tapered to my ankles which made me look really bottom-heavy. The pant was quite loose in the leg area and I had about a 2 inch gap at the waist. The only part that fit was my hips, but that’s not enough to make me want to keep the pant. So, I returned it.

Petite Silk Streamers Cami

I’m currently obsessing over silk tops lately and this one looked pretty good to me. It’s loose but fitted and the pleated detail seemed interesting. I’m not a huge fan of ruffles, but pleats or “streamers” seemed alright.

When I received this top in the mail, I had to do a bit of ironing. The streamer pleats were wrinkled in odd places which made it look funny. But after a bit of ironing, it looked more like the picture.

The top is actually quite loose. I can easily pull it over my head without using the side zipper. The length sits at the hip and if only the width was taken in, it’d be perfect. Still, it’s not too noticeable that it’s loose, especially with the tie belt. It looks pretty good, so I’m keeping it.

Outfit Details: J.Crew silk streamers cami 0P, Banana Republic floral skirt XS, Nordstrom cardigan XS, Guess belt XS, Payless peeptoes

9 Responses to “My Latest Finds at J.Crew”

  1. Alterations Needed February 3, 2010 at 8:25 PM #

    The top looks great with the skirt! I think I remember that BR skirt being available in stores…now I kinda wish I had picked it up! It’s really cute!

    On another note…I’m so disappointed that J.Crew petites sizing is so big. I can’t wear any of it…and I love J.Crew clothes so much!

  2. PetiteAsianGirl February 4, 2010 at 4:30 AM #

    Oh nooo … I’ve been eyeing the same exact two pieces to try next. The skimmer pant looks so good on the model. Thanks for sharing … my quest continues for the cute casual skinny pant!

  3. stylepint February 4, 2010 at 6:38 PM #

    AN: I wish J.Crew would work on it’s petite sizing. Some items sort of fits…but it can be better.

    PAG: I’m looking for skinny pants too…let me know when you find some!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. J Crew - Labor Day promo - Gigi's Gone Shopping - December 22, 2015

    […] bib tee – Irl pics * Silk Frances cami – Irl pics * Silk streamers cami – on Styleprint * Slim stretch shirt – Always good to purchase w/an additional % * Softspun cotton pocket […]

  2. J Crew Guide - final sale (end of Aug) - Gigi's Gone Shopping - December 22, 2015

    […] bib tee – Irl pics * Silk Frances cami – Irl pics * Silk streamers cami – on Styleprint * Slim stretch shirt – Always good to purchase w/an additional % * Softspun cotton pocket […]

  3. J Crew Guide - summer sale section - Gigi's Gone Shopping - December 22, 2015

    […] Irl pics and on Audreybella * Silk Frances cami – Irl pics * Silk streamers cami – on Styleprint * Slim stretch shirt – Some colors on promo for $49.50. Four or five colors are marked down […]

  4. J Crew Guide - summer sale section - Gigi's Gone Shopping - December 22, 2015

    […] Irl pics and on Audreybella * Silk Frances cami – Irl pics * Silk streamers cami – on Styleprint * Slim stretch shirt – Some colors on promo for $49.50. I prefer a S regular in these. * […]

  5. J Crew Review Guide - sale section - Gigi's Gone Shopping - December 22, 2015

    […] tank – Irl pics * Silk Frances cami – Irl pics * Silk streamers cami – on Styleprint * Slim stretch shirt – Some colors on promo for $49.50. I prefer a S regular in these. * […]

  6. Weekend Warriors - Stylepint - August 9, 2018

    […] Details: Martin + Osa cardigan XS, J.Crew silk streamers cami 0P (last seen), Madewell jeggings S, Swarovski crystal pendant necklace, Colehaan Saddle Soft Satchel in Ginger […]

Leave a comment