Journey in Circle Lenses

5 Feb

I’ve been wearing contacts and glasses for most of my life, so when colored contacts first arrived on the scene, I wasn’t interested. But after seeing them on my friends, it looked pretty natural.

I was curious so I bought a pair of “natural-looking” unnaturally grey contacts from mycandyeyes.com because they were having a sale for $20/pair and free shipping. I carefully read the company policy, looked for reviews online, checked Youtube videos, etc…but there weren’t many reviews. But I reviewed the status of my order daily and I sent them a couple emails about my order. It wasn’t difficult to contact them, but I realize that they were a bit slow in the processing department. The total time from initial purchase to receiving the package on my doorstep took 16 days.

They sent the contacts in a paperback book-size cardboard box where I found the bubble wrapped lenses, a contact case, and a small pamphlet about the contacts. The packaging was very simple and plain, nothing fancy. They do provide a tracking number upon request and as long as you email them with all your questions, you’ll have your answers. The customer service may not be as streamlined as other sites, but it is a legitimate company.

Anyways, about the contacts. I ordered GEO Magic Color Fresh Color contacts (FC-725) in grey and the company provides a site to check products for authenticity. So, I took out the lens bottles, found the authentic sticker, scratched off the seal, and entered the code online for verification. The code was valid which confirmed that my contacts were authentically made in Korea by the GEO company. Btw, these lenses are good for one year, so they should be pretty sturdy when compared to other disposable contacts.

Like regular contacts, I put them on and had no decreased vision from the pigment on the contacts.

At first, you couldn’t really tell the color change, but I did notice that my iris looked larger due to the darkened limbal ring on the contact. Since the pigment doesn’t cover the whole iris, it also makes the pupil seem larger in sunlight. I could see the faint grey color of the lens and it wasn’t that noticeable in natural light or indoor light unless you were paying attention to my eyes. But with flash, you can tell I’m wearing colored contacts. I guess that’s a surprise for the photographer.

I wore these contacts around for a couple of weeks and so far, I’ve had no problems. Most people didn’t notice the grey unless the sun was directed toward my eye or when I looked to the side, there was a faint glimmer. I like the fact that they’re subtle and they don’t scream “I’m wearing colored contacts!” It adds a bit of fun to the boring everyday.

Oddly enough, these contacts are more comfortable than my bi-weekly Acuvue Oasys ones. So, for $20/year for this one pair of lenses, it might replace my normal contacts since they cost over $200/year. Talk about saving money and having fun at the same time.

Regular Contacts in Daylight

Circle Lenses in Daylight

Circle Lenses with Flash

Zoomed Shot of the Eyes

*Disclaimer: This is an unsponsored personal review and I have no affliation or association to mycandyeyes.com or the GEO company.

4 Responses to “Journey in Circle Lenses”

  1. MizzJ February 5, 2010 at 8:09 PM #

    Hmm it looks pretty cool even with the flash! I dunno… even if it’s that cheap, are you sure that it won’t damage your eyes at all to wear a single pair for that long?

    • stylepint February 5, 2010 at 10:38 PM #

      I used to get contacts that would be changed annually, so I know “in general” that contacts can last a year. Also, I’m neat freak, so I take special care when cleaning my contacts. Circle lenses are cheap, but the brand is legit and the contacts themselves are pretty durable. For now, I’m alternating days of wearing my bi-weeklies and the circle lenses….just to get a feel for them. I’ll see if they dry out prematurely but already, they’ve outlasted my bi-weeklies and they don’t irritate my eyes by the end of the day.

  2. ling February 7, 2010 at 2:10 AM #

    hey, where im from (malaysia) we can buy geo lens from online blogshops and it only costs like abt rm30, which is about equivalent to 9usd, my best friend worships geo lens and she has like 6 diff colours that she wears to suit her mood haha. anyways, shes been using this brand for abt 2 years now and so far, no problems 🙂

    personally though, i tried them and while wearing them, i felt like there was perpetually something in my eye, but perhaps its coz im not used to wearing contacts as i have perfect vision and was only wearing them for cosmetic purposes heh.

    • stylepint February 8, 2010 at 11:50 PM #

      Thanks for the info! You’re so lucky that the shops sell the contacts for cheap!

Leave a comment