DIY Part II: Sweater Clip

25 Sep

Is Glee single-handedly bringing back sweater clips?

It seems so as more episodes of Emma Pillsbury (as played byJayma Mays) display more versions of some lovely vintage sweater clips. At first, I thought she was wearing an interesting brooch/necklace. Then I looked it up and it turns out it’s a 1950’s accessories trend that went out of style as people moved away from the sock hop look.

However, cardigans and these clips are back with a vengeance! No longer are they for adorning your old lady library sweaters, they’re perfect for adding some bling to your neckline a lá collar. So clip this little vintage trinket and you’re ready for sweet surprise.

The perfect accessory that’s like a necklace…only not! Tehee!

I saw this owl sweater guard clip debut on Glee Episode 1, as worn by Emma Pillsbury. (Jayma Mays) It’s no longer available on Etsy and no matter how hard I scoured Ebay, no luck. So, I decided to make my own version.

With cost of all the materials, it was easily less than $20 at Michael’s.

Plus, I got a nearly brand new vest clip for $1.99 from Goodwill.

The pearls were pretty sweet at $5.99 for about 14″.

And of course, who can forget the owl? It’s a swinging owl, so it has some movement, which I kind of like anyways.

I’m making a more modern uptake on the vintage sweater clip by connecting the string of pearls to the vest clip and attaching the owl to the head of the vest clip. It only takes a couple of minutes and some fidgeting, but in the end, it’s worth it!

I forgot to take pictures of it before I moved, so it’s packed away somewhere. But I’ll have it up soon!

One Response to “DIY Part II: Sweater Clip”

  1. FB @ FabulouslyBroke.com September 28, 2009 at 7:52 AM #

    I am embarrassed to even admit I had no idea what a sweater clip was.

    So I Googled it, and I realized that it’s JUST WHAT I WANT! 🙂 It could be a great idea to clip not just on sweaters but on t-shirts to give it a bit of jazz… so you don’t have to wear jewelery that day.

    Thanks for coming by the blog!

Leave a comment