Closet Therapy

28 Sep

Now, back to almost regular programming.

I recently moved into a new apartment, and during the packing sessions, I realized that I have a lot of clothes and shoes. It was over double of what I originally brought to the place the year before. That’s some crazy expansion! At times, I would go into my closet and I could not find the piece I wanted because it was buried away somewhere. When it got messy, it was pretty unmanageable and sometimes, I’d be frustrated because I didn’t have anything to wear!

It’s not that I don’t have things to wear, but I couldn’t find it because I had so much other junk.

So, to prevent additional growth, I’m gradually paring it down. I went through each and every item and asked myself,

“Have I worn this lately?
Would I wear it in the future?
And can it create multiple outfits?”

If the answer was a resounding NO, it went to the donation pile. If the answer was YES, then it was carefully put back into the closet.

Every once in a while, I’ll sell my clothes to Buffalo Exchange, Plato’s Closet, and the like, but I find that I don’t really shop there, and it’s not worth the pain of seeing a brand new, but too big For Joseph dress (original price $165) get marked down to $15 because few people have heard of this LA designer. It was marked less than a Urban Outfitters dress that I got for $30.

Therefore, I prefer to donate everything to Goodwill or Salvation Army. That way, I have a charitable donation that brightens up someone’s day who really needs these clothes.

After the first round, I made sure that I had less than 365 items of clothing and shoes as my personal goal and luckily I’m still way under! I can mix and match to create countless different outfits with my current wardrobe, so why purchase more? I’m pretty sure I can wear a different outfit everyday for a year and I’m sure people would still think that I have a never-ending supply of clothes. But I don’t.

Here are a couple of tips I’ve picked up to having a great wardrobe:

  • Sort clothes according to the type like putting all jackets together
  • Fold t-shirts and sweaters to prevent them from stretching out
  • A shoe rack or clear storage containers to see your shoes better when matching an outfit
  • If a garment needs special attention, like leather, wool, or silk, make sure it’s stored properly so it lasts longer
  • Have a set number of hangers so when it’s all filled up, then it’s just a matter of replacing items instead of adding items to your closet

What do you do to keep your closet manageable and organized?

One Response to “Closet Therapy”

  1. PetiteAsianGirl November 5, 2009 at 9:37 PM #

    How funny! I wrote a super similar post on my old blog (link attached in the “website” field of this comment form in case you were interested). Guess we think alike.

Leave a Reply

