A Visit to Ann Taylor LOFT

19 Sep

Since I’m on a shopping ban, I feel like I’ve been doing more of these fitting room reviews to compensate.

Everyone’s been talking about LOFT lately and I’ve only recently started looking at their things. Since there was a promotion on pants, I asked the SA about the pant styles and cuts. She told me that there were primarily 2 cuts, the Julie and the Marisa. Online, there’s the Ann, but they haven’t been getting them in the store recently.

I took a pair of each style in 00P to compare the fit on my body.

The Marisa.

Modern Fit. Sits lower on waist. Wide-leg silhouette.

The top is in XXSP and though it fits decently, I don’t think it’s for me. It looks much better on Petite XXS.

I like the idea of the silhouette, but it’s totally unflattering. My hips are too wide for this style with unsightly bunching in the crotch area. There is also a fairly large waist gap by 2-3 inches.

Would I buy it? No. But it would work on someone with a thicker midsection and slimmer hips.

The Julie.

Curvy Fit. Sits slightly below the waist. Contoured to flatter the hip and thigh. Wide-leg silhouette.

The tee is in XXSP. It’s cute, but not really my style. It’s a bit too snug over my chest, so I would go with an XSP instead.

The pant fits perfectly with no waist gap and there’s more than enough room for my hips. The silhouette is more of a bootcut than a wide-leg look, but it’s not bad. From the back, I have a serious case of pancake butt…and that definitely killed it.

Would I buy it? Not really unless I take it to the tailors to fix the back part. Would fit someone with a more sizeable bottom half.

So I guess these LOFT pant styles are not for me.

How about you? What styles fit your body shape and how do you like LOFT pants?

8 Responses to “A Visit to Ann Taylor LOFT”

  1. Banhannas September 19, 2010 at 11:30 AM #

    Aww, I thought the Julie cut really flattered your hips! Sorry to hear it didn’t work in the rear area. =0( My favorite cut is the Marissa but that’s because I absolutely have no curve to my frame. I personally think low cut is more comfortable too.

    I got some pants from LOFT and there should be a review on them soon! Shopping bans can be no fun but window shopping and trying on clothes can make up for the glum.

    • Stylepint September 19, 2010 at 7:16 PM #

      I can’t wait for your review on the pants! I’m starting to like high rise pants cuz it looks more classic, but then, I have to be wary of what to pair with them or it can easily look like mom pants. =P

  2. thoshebebutlittle September 19, 2010 at 11:39 AM #

    It’s too bad neither cut worked just right on you… I wonder how the Ann would fit you, if you got the chance to try them out. From the description,it sounds like it’s a bit inbetween.

    And, I’m also a Marisa girl like Banhannas… pretty boyish in build.

  3. Michelle September 19, 2010 at 1:29 PM #

    I can’t believe you didn’t like that top on you! I think it looks great!

    So far, no luck with LOFT trousers for me, either. Still on a mission to find nice work pants.

    • Stylepint September 19, 2010 at 7:18 PM #

      I’m not really used to wearing tanks without a cardigan, so maybe that’s why the top didn’t stand out for me. As for pants, my favorite is Theory in Tailor fabric. It’s expensive, but it fits so well and it’s worth it! If only they had other colors and styles, I might pick up a couple more pairs. I have a feeling they’ll last a long time. =)

  4. Curls and Pearls September 19, 2010 at 6:19 PM #

    I have the same trouble with pants as you did in the first pic. The pocket jut out all weridly like that!

  5. PetiteXXS September 19, 2010 at 8:31 PM #

    Pants that fit properly are so darn hard to find! I’ve only tried on a pair of jeans from LOFT but they were waaaay too big so I’ve never even tried any of their pant offerings before. And it’s always so interesting to see the same items on different petites. I really like the top but I realize that the billowy blouson style isn’t for everyone 🙂

    • Stylepint September 20, 2010 at 12:51 PM #

      Seriously! There are so many pant offerings from many different stores, but it’s difficult to choose one that fits just right off the rack! But once I find them, it’ll be a magical day! =)

Leave a Reply

