Review: Shabby Apple Dresses

30 Aug

Lately, it seems like Shabby Apple is everywhere but I’m not sure how it fits a petite.

Previously, I tried the Rendezvous dress in XXS with disastrous results that I could have avoided if I read the reviews. The lining was too small for the dress and I did zip it up, but I had the hardest time getting it off. The proportions were all wrong for a petite, but perfect for someone whose 5’7″ and above.

Still one experience is not enough to deter me since I might have picked the wrong dress to try. I think the knit dresses are more flexible with fit, but I wasn’t drawn to the styles. So I took a risk and went for the fitted dresses, specifically Cider and Mt. Greylock.

First, Cider. I got it in XS and it’s made of 100% cotton.

Looks pretty good on the model.

And on me?

From the first photo, it doesn’t look so bad, it’s just a little long.

The fabric feels thick and stiff, almost like crepe paper, but it’s definitely fabric. The construction on the garment is pretty decent though I wish the zipper was invisible instead of being purple. And the detail around the neckline is pretty reminiscent of things I’ve seen from Ann Taylor.

The other photos show that the dress is not flattering and it’s way too big. The shoulder area is too wide. At the waist, I can pull away 4 inches of fabric. And the flare at the bottom is overwhelming on my frame. Even if I got the XXS, it’d still be loose and the proportions would still be off.

Keep or Return? Return.

The next dress is Mt. Greylock in XS. It’s a herringbone knit print made from 100% Wool.

Trendy and sophisticated. It’s also spot on with the fall trend with herringbone and the lady-like silhouettte.

And on me?

The style is super cute and an XXS would probably looked better since the fabric stretches. But the proportions are off once again and the detail at the waist makes it look like I have a pooch. I could put on this dress without unzipping the zipper…that’s how loose it is and how much it can stretch.

If I altered the dress in XXS, I’d have to adjust the dart and seam positions, raise the waistline, and shorten the hem. And maybe shrink the size of the sleeves by an inch or two.

Keep or Return? Return.

Shabby Apple  has several cute styles of dresses, but it’s just not made for a petite in mind. I’ve seen some bloggers wear Shabby Apple dresses but they either altered it in some way, kept it long, or they’re just the perfect proportion for those dresses.

Maybe I  chose the wrong styles for my body type, but it just didn’t work out for me.

What do you think? Have you tried Shabby Apple and what were your results?

17 Responses to “Review: Shabby Apple Dresses”

  1. good girl gone blog August 30, 2010 at 7:24 AM #

    I think their dresses just aren’t for tiny people like us. Still, I was sent a dress to review a while back and I think it looked cute…but I want to hem it. Unfortunately, it’s going to be a difficult hem job, so I can’t just have my mom do it and will have to take it to an actual tailor haha.

    So I guess what I’m saying is…if you find a Shabby Apple dress that you like and it’s a) not too expensive b) fits everywhere except for the length, then buy it and get it hemmed.

    • Stylepint August 30, 2010 at 6:46 PM #

      I agree with your advice…if it’s something you really love, then do what it takes to make it perfect. But right off the rack, it’s not petite-friendly.

  2. elenasc August 30, 2010 at 8:02 AM #

    I think this style is cute are good for any occasion!

    • Curls and Pearls August 30, 2010 at 9:04 AM #

      awww that’s too bad. I love the dresses on their website but I was doubtful they would be good for petites. I agree, all of them should go back. Not flattering on you at all and you can pull off just about anything!

      • Stylepint August 30, 2010 at 6:48 PM #

        I was pretty hesitant about the dresses, but I wanted to make sure that it was true. I saw that a few bloggers around my height loving Shabby Apple, so I thought it might work out.

  3. Vicky August 30, 2010 at 10:39 AM #

    These dresses both look way too big on you. I guess they are not made for petites at all. Never tried them before, and probably never will.

  4. Sarah August 30, 2010 at 12:44 PM #

    Their dresses are very cute, but I have heard negatives about how they fit. How did you come to be able to review their dresses anyway? I’d love to be able to do that. Shoot me an email and let me know, if you would. Thanks!

    • Stylepint August 30, 2010 at 6:50 PM #

      Shabby Apple dresses, especially the fitted ones are designed for a particular target audience and body type/height/etc. So, any negatives are for those who don’t fit into their target group. I understand that petites aren’t the target, so I can’t really fault them that I can’t fit into their sizes.

  5. a pretty penny August 30, 2010 at 1:37 PM #

    I’m so glad I found you (well, you found me first, but you know what I mean) 🙂 I love your blog! I’m kind of right in the grey zone between petite and average… petites are often cut a little too short, and regulars are way too long, but I think we have a lot of similar style challenges.

    BTW, I LOVE your hair!

  6. Ms. Shopportunity August 30, 2010 at 3:05 PM #

    I love the look of Shabby Apple, but I could tell from their website that there’s no way these dresses fit petite women. Such a shame too! If they did offer a few of their items in petite sizes, I think they’d get a loyal following!

  7. PetiteXXS August 30, 2010 at 5:24 PM #

    Yeah, not even close, huh? They have some really cute styles but definitely a no go in terms of sizing from what I’ve been seeing.

    • Stylepint August 30, 2010 at 6:54 PM #

      I think the proportions of the dress is what really kills me. The knit dress styles may fit better and if it seems like just a length issue, it might be more than because the proportions and detail are designed with a taller person in mind.

  8. Elle August 30, 2010 at 7:45 PM #

    I definitely don’t think Shabby Apple clothes are made for petites…everything you reviewed is way too long and the proportions are way off even compared to mainstream retailers. I think the second dress looks cute on you but is still way too big/long.

  9. MizzJ August 30, 2010 at 10:36 PM #

    That sucks that both dresses didn’t fit you at all! They look so cute in the photos, but then again you can’t tell whether they’ve pinned it a lot in the back for them too. They shouldn’t offer XS sizes if they won’t fit us petites!

  10. Liz August 30, 2010 at 11:05 PM #

    Wow, it’s good you shared this so other people have an idea of what it might look like on them! I think they are definitely too long, what a bummer, cute in theory..

  11. PetiteLittleGirl August 31, 2010 at 6:32 PM #

    Thanks for the review. It really helps. I was going to place an order from them but haven’t had a chance to do so. Now I don’t think I would find anything on there that would fit me. All their dresses seem long (very long on petites). I agree their styles look very good on models.

  12. PetiteAsianGirl August 31, 2010 at 8:00 PM #

    I think it was evident from the model photos that the stuff wasn’t petite friendly, but thank you for being brave and giving them a second chance…only to confirm your suspicions.

Leave a Reply

