Petite Fashion Challenge #1 – Do a Petite Don’t

26 Aug

For the first Petite Fashion Challenge, I decided to do capris. After all, capri pants are notorious for being unfriendly to petites since they chop off the leg line and could make the legs look shorter.

When I wear capris, I usually pair them with sandals to go the beach. The shorter length of the pant is perfect for tiptoeing in the water without getting your pants wet.

For this specific cut and style of capri pant, there are a couple of plus and minuses to it.

Pros

  • The relatively dark wash streamlines the look of the capri pant
  • The small flare at the bottom balances out the hips

Cons

  • The low rise shortens the leg line
  • The cropped length also shortens the leg line

To combat the negative elements of my capri pants, I wear open toed sandals or shoes to elongate the leg line. However, wearing flats can only add so much to the leg line and the proportions are not quite right.

(If I had a more fitted shirt..it might help as long as I don’t fully cover the waistband.)

But what about a weekend brunch outfit with capri pants?

I don’t really dress up for brunch, so I kept the same outfit but changed the shoes. More specifically, I put on a pair of nude wedges. The nude color combined with the additional height of the wedge extends the leg line so that the legs look longer.

If I still want to wear capris, in the future, I’d look for the following elements to get the “best” looking capri pant for my petite stature and body shape:

  • A high or mid rise pant
  • A small flare at the bottom
  • A dark or uniform wash
  • A style that cuts close to the body

How about you readers?

Do you wear capris and what elements do you look for?

18 Responses to “Petite Fashion Challenge #1 – Do a Petite Don’t”

  1. Callandra August 26, 2010 at 7:02 PM #

    I really like these pants on you, and I think you did a great job adding the nude wedge to visually lengthen your leg line!….(I’m pretty fond of my capris and flops too 😉

    • Diana August 26, 2010 at 9:30 PM #

      Looks like a success! I agree with Callandra, the nude wedges help a lot! This is a cute, casual outfit that works for you. Yay! 🙂

    • Stylepint August 26, 2010 at 10:13 PM #

      Thanks! Capris and flip flops seem to be my default this summer…it’s such a great match! =)

  2. AUBS August 27, 2010 at 12:48 AM #

    I think this definitely works for you. Capris are hard to pull off on petites, but from these pictures, it doesn’t seem like it shortens you at all.

    • Aubrey August 27, 2010 at 10:25 AM #

      To add to my comment, after reviewing some of the other capri entries, I like yours the most. Somehow, I think it just really works on you, even though it’s more fitted (less poncho-esque) and seeing it here paired w/flat sandals. Bravo!

      • Stylepint August 27, 2010 at 11:34 PM #

        Thanks so much! I have athletic “curvy” legs so I know that the looser look of other capri styles don’t look good on me. I’m starting to realize that specific cuts of pants really make a difference depending on your body type. =)

  3. PetiteLittleGirl August 27, 2010 at 6:09 AM #

    I think you look great in this outfit. I prefer nude pumps over flip-flops. I am not a big fan of capris because it’s hard to pull them off when we’re petites. When I do wear them, I always pair them with high heels.

  4. Vicky August 27, 2010 at 3:58 PM #

    I like the way you wear the capri with nude sandals. Not too sure about the flats.

    I’m giving away a Betsey Johnson bracelet at http://vickysdailyfashion.blogspot.com/. Please come by and enter.

    • Vicky August 27, 2010 at 4:00 PM #

      Sorry. Ignore my plea for entering the giveaway. I forgot you already did. 🙂 Have a great weekend.

  5. PetiteAsianGirl August 27, 2010 at 9:32 PM #

    The denim capris with the nude wedges are a total do on you. Who knew that a tee and “offensive length” denim bottoms could look so casual chic? Thanks for participating!

  6. CCE August 28, 2010 at 6:04 AM #

    ohh, the shoes do make the difference..love the casual look on you, reminds me to go out to find some nude high-heeled sandals 🙂

  7. Hanna August 28, 2010 at 3:16 PM #

    I liked how you mentioned to wear a dark wash type of capri. I still own a pair of light wash jean capri and it is not as flattering since you can’t really dress it up or anything. I think a tapered bottom would be fine too and create an illusion of elongation.

    • Stylepint August 29, 2010 at 4:11 AM #

      Light wash jean capris can work with a fancier top (like a sequins top) if you want to dress things up. Tapered bottoms go well with certain body types but for me, tapered bottoms tend to emphasize my hips and thighs to make me look a bit unbalanced. But I think it depends on figuring out the right balance between body type and styling to get the most mileage out of your clothes. =)

  8. metta August 29, 2010 at 8:41 AM #

    u look great in capris and wedges =) like u, i’d get capris which are dark-coloured, skinny-fit (no flare at the bottom) and those which end a few inches over the ankle a la audrey hepburn.

  9. diya August 29, 2010 at 3:55 PM #

    looking good! I love how you paired the capris with nude wedges…really offsets the “cut-off leg” effect you stated about cropped pants…

  10. PetiteXXS August 30, 2010 at 11:02 PM #

    I’ve definitely worn that exact same outfit with the flip flops back in the day! 🙂 Like others said, the nude wedges really make a big difference… and I think a different, perhaps more fitted, top would dress up the look even more.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Petite Fashion Challenge #1 – “Do a Petite Don’t” – Preview by Q - June 26, 2017

    […] Sydney @Petite Little Girl – long shapeless shirt Petite XXS – wide-legged capris Stylepint @Pint Size Musings -denim capris Kiki @Psyched for Style – ankle strap shoes Cynthia @Shorty Stories – […]

  2. Petite Fashion Challenge #1 – “Do a Petite Don’t” – Extra Petite - June 29, 2017

    […] Sydney @Petite Little Girl – long shapeless shirt Petite XXS – wide-legged capris Stylepint @Pint Size Musings -denim capris Kiki @Psyched for Style – ankle strap shoes Cynthia @Shorty Stories – […]

Leave a Reply

