A Flashback …Plus, I Need Your Input!

25 Aug

A few weeks ago, I was supposed to hang out with one of my good friends but she needed to run a few errands before our meeting. So I went to the local Goodwill to kill some time. They were having a sale on dresses for $3.99 that day so I went straight for the dress racks.

Most of the time, there’s nothing for me, but that day, there was this awesome 100% silk dress that looked brand new. I checked the tag and it said Robbie Bee Petite, Size 4. It required a little fixing since there were two missing buttons and the elastic was stretched out at the waist. I decided to purchase it and figure out its potential later.

The dress looks pretty good in its original state.

Outfit Details: Robbie Bee Petite – 4 (Goodwill), Valentino Garavani heels (DecadesTwo)

Totally 80’s right?

Well, here’s where I need your input and your fashion advice.

I want to do a DIY project with this dress, but I’m not sure how to proceed because I have several ideas. So I’m leaving it up you readers to decide for me.

You can provide other ideas in the comments below! =)

6 Responses to “A Flashback …Plus, I Need Your Input!”

  1. Kerry August 25, 2010 at 7:41 AM #

    I bought a dress with a similar style from the sale rack at Old Navy for $1.99 (this was back in 2001). The dress was the same length as yours and it always looked wrong on me (plus it was too big in the hips).

    It’s been hanging in my closet for nearly a decade and I finally decided to tackle it last month. (Still haven’t taken photos).

    Anyway – I shortened it to just above knee length and suddenly my frumpy dress is now quite stylish. I think yours will look very cute and refreshing with a shorter hemline.

    I used the material I chopped off at the bottom of mine to make a sash to tie around the waist of the skirt as a different way of styling it.

  2. Janice (Couture and Crayons) August 25, 2010 at 8:46 AM #

    I immediately thought romper, either shorts or if you dare a harem-esque romper. (Not too bagging in the crotch area though.) Very Rachel Zoe, I might add. Just google images of here and you’ll see a few pics of her in a harem jumpsuit. And a nice chunky belt would be perfect too. But if a romper is too large a task, I think hemmed above the knee would look great too.

  3. PetiteXXS August 25, 2010 at 12:52 PM #

    I also vote for romper vs. above the knee. Probably wouldn’t leave it as is because it does look dated and seems to age you as well. Can’t wait to see how it turns out! 🙂

  4. metta August 26, 2010 at 4:05 AM #

    http://newdressaday.wordpress.com/ has TONS of ideas on reconstructing vintage dresses!! that girl is simply amazing. she is my hero

  5. PetiteAsianGirl August 27, 2010 at 12:25 PM #

    Woo…59% for above the knee! I think it would still retain it’s vintage charm if shortened to above the knee. As much as I love the thought of a romper, I think you’d get more wear out of it if it were just a dress.

    • Stylepint August 27, 2010 at 11:34 PM #

      I really like the romper idea too, but I agree that keeping it as a dress would be better. =)

Leave a Reply

