Why Do You Shop?

24 Aug

After a no-shopping weekend, I wondered how I got into the habit of shopping every week?

I’m sure it was a slippery slope combined with boredom that sent me to the mall or thrift store every weekend looking for something to buy. At first, I just wanted to window shop and look at pretty things. But looking led to touching the items, and touching led to trying it on, and if it looked good on me, I was quickly justifying the purchase in my head…and before you know it…I’m walking out the store with a few less dollars and a smile on my face.

Oh, but you can afford it!

You deserve a reward!

It was on sale!

You did the happy dance when it fit!

The cost per wear is practically zero since you’ll wear it all the time!

I keep telling myself these little things to rationalize my purchases but they really don’t help the situation.

The end of the month draws nearer and my closet has more items that I intended. Sure, I didn’t buy another plain white tee, but do I really need another item? That’s when I decided to put a small shopping ban. Two weeks of no-shopping….sounds simple enough.

But why am I  counting down the days?

How about you readers? Why do you shop…is it out of necessity, entertainment, or something totally different?

9 Responses to “Why Do You Shop?”

  1. susan August 24, 2010 at 10:12 AM #

    Oh yeah, sometimes I realize I’m getting a little out of hand and I go on month-long shopping bans! It’s really hard but afterward I make better decisions and I don’t feel the urge as much, haha.

  2. Elle August 24, 2010 at 1:47 PM #

    I can understand your feeling, I am on a permanent ban but I still buy things in spite of it.

    I think it’s because there have been times when I really really wanted something but persuaded myself to not buy it only to obsess over it and return to the store to find it already bought. So sometimes I give myself leniency when it comes to things that I love instantly and continue to love after the first 20 minutes. I justify it by saying I have no kids, I save a lot of what I earn, and that I am responsible.

  3. Alterations Needed August 24, 2010 at 2:11 PM #

    Good question!

    I’m usually always on the hunt for something, so I have this overwhelming need to go out “hunting” for it all the time. Because, well, what if the one day I don’t go shopping, my perfect item is just sitting there, and someone else buys it, and I’ll never ever see it again!?

    Or, I just love to see and touch beautiful things, so I’d rather go shopping than, say, camping.

  4. WendyD August 24, 2010 at 2:52 PM #

    For me, it depends on the time of year.

    I go to school in a small-ish town (at least, compared to where I’m from), so there isn’t much to do on the weekends. Shopping has become a form of entertainment and bonding for my roommates and I. The nearest mall isn’t half-bad, and there’s actually a pretty good mall 50 minutes away. I always joke that my friend is a shopoholic, but yet whenever I go with her, I somehow always out-shop. This doesn’t happen when I’m with other people!

    When I’m living back at home, shopping is more about the hunt – I NEED shorts, or I NEED work attire. It’s still fun, but it’s more about (perceived) necessity than entertainment.

  5. Kerry August 24, 2010 at 3:17 PM #

    I started out shopping with “the hunt” in mind – I was trying to build a professional wardrobe that fit me well. However, I started this back in the spring and I am still unemployed, so now I feel like shopping for clothes for my nonexistent job is pointless.

    I’ve recently fixated on shoes – but I limit myself to eBay and a price of $20 or less including shipping. I’ve managed to get 4 pairs of shoes recently, so when the day comes that I finally have a job to go to, I will have a complete wardrobe with matching shoes.

    I actually hate shopping because the stores never carry anything in my size, so I just end up frustrated. On the rare occasion I do go, I only go to thrift stores because the cost is so much less for my (nonexistent) budget.

  6. Angie August 24, 2010 at 3:38 PM #

    Hahaha you sound just like me justifying my purchases! Good luck 🙂 I am pulling a makeup no-buy TIL THE END OF THE YEAR O_o I think I should ease into it – there were a few things I wanted at the drugstore and then that’s it! Must resist xD I have too much anyway and I mostly live on concealer and eyeliner.

    It took .. probably 2-3 hours T__T My boyfriend needed to help me a lottt and even he was pretty confused. I do remember a lot of the steps so if you want to nab that $1.17 deal DO IT! I will try to help as much as possible 🙂 It’s always nice to have your .com. Hmm but you’re on WordPress and I’m on Blogger. There are tons of tutorials online to help – that’s what I lived off of

  7. PetiteXXS August 24, 2010 at 7:39 PM #

    I think for me, because of the fact that most things don’t fit (especially on a limited budget), if I’m not actively looking I could probably go for months without buying/keeping anything new. But because of the same fact I also usually end up buying things because they fit and saving them for later… because if I wait, they won’t be there when I need them!

  8. MizzJ August 24, 2010 at 10:32 PM #

    Hmm good question! I think there can be a variety of reasons: necessity, social activity (ie going shopping with friends, who wants to be the empty handed one!) boredom, etc. Going on a ban is hard at first, but it’s a good exercise. Ever since I did one for a couple months, I’ve had more self-control ever since. Good luck!

  9. Angie August 25, 2010 at 12:40 AM #

    I should go on a clothing ban too T__T I have way too much of everything D:

    The SLR is one of my bf’s dad’s old ones so maybe I’ll learn how to shoot with that huge thing. So many buttons!

Leave a Reply

