The Neutral Zone

18 Aug

Outfit Details: BCBG dress + belt – XXS, DIY necklace (gift), Aldo pumps

When I’m feeling lazy, I just want to put on a dress and get going. It takes too much effort to think about separates sometimes. So this outfit is very basic but it still looks put together.

My birthday is tomorrow and I have no idea what I’ll be doing…probably nothing. I’m not one to make a huge fuss about these things so I’d rather have a low-key day.

Another year older is another reminder of how quickly time passes. There’s so much I want to do, but I always give out the excuse that “I don’t have the time” or “Someday.” In reality, I never know what the day brings and things I push for those somedays may quickly become never. So, I’m really trying to accomplish what I keep pushing back. Things as simple as visiting a friend, going camping, or touring another state.

I’ve also been thinking about no-spending days. Last Sunday, I went on a 7 mile hike around Mt. Hollywood and it was amazing! Every once in a while, it’s nice to get away from the city and see things from a different perspective.

The Hollywood Sign is on the left hill in the photo. You can barely make it out, but it’s there.

I loved watching the horses go by…apparently this is part of the trail that was featured on Girls Next Door.

And this crew beat us to the peak by taking all the steep shortcuts up the mountain. But the view was totally worth it.

9 Responses to “The Neutral Zone”

  1. PetiteLittleGirl August 18, 2010 at 7:32 AM #

    I can related to this post. Sometimes I feel unmotivated in the morning and just put on whatever I can find in my closet for work. Luckily, my work place is business casual environment so I can get away with being casual once in awhile. Happy Birthday to you and hope you’ll have a wonderful day tomorrow. My birthday is coming up and I am not looking forward to it. At this age, birthday is not something that exciting me anymore. I probably go out and have a nice dinner with family but that’s all. I still have many things that I’d like to accomplish but I probably won’t be able to(there is limited of things that people can do when having a family and/or child). Though I am working on a project and hopefully, I’ll be able to pull it off in the near future. Have a great day!

    • Curls and Pearls August 18, 2010 at 7:45 AM #

      Happy Birthday!!! You should always celebrate and embrace it – I think I’m older than many of the petite bloggers I follow and I think I freaked out a bit turning 20 then 26 but when I turned 30 I was totally happy! I’m in my early 30’s now and it’s a great place to be 🙂

      I have this dilemna almost daily about what to throw on in the mornings. I think I need more go to dresses like the one you are wearing – easy to wear but so put together. Love it!

  2. Ping August 18, 2010 at 8:21 AM #

    Awww…happy bday to you! I’m the same way…I’m not a fan of big parties. I normally just go to dinner and do something low key.

    My work place is pretty casual too. I can wear pretty much whatever I want besides jeans & a mini skirt. My normal go to is a cardigan and skinnies pants!

  3. Janice (Couture and Crayons) August 18, 2010 at 4:48 PM #

    You are so right about the ease of a dress. Hope you have a great birthday tomorrow!

  4. PetiteAsianGirl August 18, 2010 at 5:32 PM #

    Happy early birthday Jess! I’m with you and Ping too…not a big celebrator at all of birthdays. It’s just not a big deal…getting one year older, although I know we should cherish all the good years we have. That’s a great perspective you have to get the little things accomplished that you keep pushing back.

    No spend days are an interesting idea. I don’t think I’ve gone a day without spending at least a few dollars on some sort of food.

    • Stylepint August 18, 2010 at 8:27 PM #

      I love no-spend days, but I usually don’t count the driving cost since it’s pretty hard to get around without a car and there’s not much to see within walking distance. But making my own meals and finding free things to do makes me appreciate the value of money but helps me to remember that money isn’t everything.

  5. PetiteXXS August 18, 2010 at 7:06 PM #

    Happy early birthday! Birthdays get more and more anti-climatic as you get older 🙂 I just feel lucky if I don’t happen to be on call that day! (Spent the last 2 birthdays in the hospital).

    You make me want to go hiking! Maybe I convince hubby to go take a hike one of these weekends 🙂

    • Stylepint August 18, 2010 at 8:28 PM #

      You should! There’s so many nice trails in LA. I’m enjoying hiking a lot more nowadays. =)

  6. Stylepint August 18, 2010 at 8:25 PM #

    Thanks for all the birthday wishes! =)

Leave a Reply

