The Look: Deconstructing the Schoolboy

17 Aug

The other day, I was browsing through the J.Crew website and my boyfriend came by to see what I was doing on the computer. Without any prompting, he started picking out items that he thought I could pull off.

One of them was this photo.

It’s androgynous. It’s feminine. It’s classic. But it’s also very modern.

My boyfriend can usually pick out things that match my style, but he also pushes the envelope with items I don’t normally wear. He’s more adventurous with my closet choices than I am!

I let him be critical and I don’t get hurt if he doesn’t like something I really like. Plus, I try my best not to corner him with the “Does this make me look fat?” question. We can agree to disagree.

Back to the outfit photo, I think it’s too reminiscent of my private school days and who wants to wear a uniform? But my boyfriend replied that it’s a nod to the whole schoolboy look while keeping it contemporary and sexy.

The jeans make it sexy. (So he says.)

If you break the outfit down to its basic parts, it’s very simple. The white shirt and the cardigan give off the business look, but the jeans and rolled up sleeves make it more casual. Adding the tie is the final touch that makes it outfit pop. It’s a bit unusual and yet, it works in the photo.

But can I really pull it off?

I looked through my closet and I found a couple of items similar to the ones features in the J.Crew picture and I think I did a pretty good job replicating the look.

Outfit Details: Talula cardigan – XXS (Artizia), Banana Republic button down – XSP, William Rast Ultra Skinny Jerri Jeans – 24, borrowed tie, Aldo pumps

What do you think…a DO or a DON’T? And for what occasion would this be appropriate to wear?

5 Responses to “The Look: Deconstructing the Schoolboy”

  1. Kerry August 17, 2010 at 9:38 AM #

    I kind of like it. My only concern is the tie creates a visual effect that drag you downward (same reason why I avoid keeping my hair longer than shoulder length – when I was in college it was halfway down my back and it made me look a lot shorter).

    I think the jeans/shirt/sweater combo look great, but I am just on the fence with the tie. It doesn’t look bad..I just wonder if it makes you look young.

  2. WendyD August 17, 2010 at 3:39 PM #

    I have to agree with Kerry on the tie – another one a couple inches shorter would work well though. I’d say it’s too wide as well – It’s not proportioned with a petite woman in mind. I’m imagining a smaller Navy tie, with either red or yellow diagonal stripes. (Am I thinking Harry Potter?)

    One of the things that made the J. Crew image POP for me was the sleeves – The sleeves of the cardigan are loosely pulled up (Not rolled), while the dress shirt is cuffed. It just gives such a contrast of careless and crispness which was pretty striking to me.

    Also, I think it’s super cool that your boyfriend takes part in your wardrobe decisions! Most of the guys I know don’t care about what we wear… Unless we complain. Then it becomes “Who told you to wear heels/shorts/t-shirt”?.

    • Stylepint August 17, 2010 at 8:56 PM #

      I did the best I could with a borrowed tie from someone who’s 5’10”. It really is too long and wide, but a boy’s jazz tie would probably work better on my frame.

      My boyfriend has probably gotten used to me asking about my outfits that he’s actually providing critical feedback instead of the generic response to avoid getting in trouble. But I’m pretty practical on most occasions so I don’t get that “Who told you wear ____?” question.

  3. HM63 August 24, 2010 at 7:34 PM #

    Love it! I think you look fantastic. 🙂

    On a man, the tie should come just to the top of the pants. I wouldn’t go any shorter than that. A tie from the boys department would probably be great for a petite.

  4. Aubrey August 25, 2010 at 10:45 AM #

    I like a theme. Very adorable. You do pull it off well. A skinnier tie would be best. Skinny jeans do make a big difference btw looking like a boy, and having a boyish charm to your outfit. Great post!

Leave a Reply

