The Look: Double Florals

28 Jul

When it comes to pattern mixing, there’s not much advice for petites.

For me, I love color and I’m working on adding more patterns to my collection. So when I looked into my closet today and realized that I bought two floral items in a sort of reverse color scheme, I had to test it out.

Here’s how I would normally wear it, with the top tucked in.

Outfit Details: Martin+Osa cardigan – XS, Madewell tunic – XS, Forever 21 skirt- S, Gap obi belt – S, Forever 21 necklace,  Aldo pumps

But then, I thought, how about leaving it untucked?

Would it look just as good or better?

I think it looks decent, but I probably need a different belt since it’s getting lost amidst the print. I tried wearing it without a belt and it just felt like it was missing something but I don’t know what.

Any suggestions?

Outfit Details: Martin+ Osa cardigan – XS, Madewell tunic – XS, Forever 21 skirt- S, Urban Outfitters braided belt – S, Forever 21 necklace,  Aldo pumps

17 Responses to “The Look: Double Florals”

  1. Evelynne July 28, 2010 at 7:30 AM #

    FWIW, I think it looks fantastic untucked with the narrow belt. The wide belt combo looks great too, and has a very nice hourglass shape to it, but the narrow belt creates a different look. The belt gives the outfit some shape, but the narrowness of the belt means that the emphasis is all on the florals and they kind of blend together instead of being separated into two “zones” as they are by the wider belt.

    • Stylepint July 28, 2010 at 12:05 PM #

      I never thought about the blending of the florals, thanks for pointing it out! =)

  2. Hanna July 28, 2010 at 7:58 AM #

    YAY! Mixing patterns is one of my next brave steps for my wardrobe and you do it really well! My favorite is where you tuck the top in with the wide belt. It adds a good separation between the top and the bottom. I think I’m also biased because I’m a huge fan of the broad belt/high waisted belts. The skinny belt works just as well, it allows the skirts to be more flirty.

    So, what is the key objective in mixing patterns? Is it the color?

    • Stylepint July 28, 2010 at 12:14 PM #

      Thanks! I’m still getting the hang of mixing patterns since I don’t have many pieces that go together.

      But when mixing patterns you should have a main print and a supporting print so they’re not both fighting for attention. I try to have one pattern larger than the other so they’re not overwhelming and to keep things in proportion. Having colors along the same palette helps keep the patterns from clashing as well. I don’t like strong contrasting colors since the print is bold enough on its own.

      For the entire outfit’s look, I keep the rest of the accessories and clothing simple and neutral so the print can stand out.

      Most of the time, it’s a trial and error process to see what works and what doesn’t. But it gets easier over time. =)

  3. Curls and Pearls July 28, 2010 at 8:44 AM #

    I really like the first look the best. Looks more put together in my opinion.

    I too would love to know the “secret” to mixing patterns! My wardrobe is so BORING! I need to liven it up 🙂

  4. Ping July 28, 2010 at 9:05 AM #

    i think i like the skinny belt better. good job on mixing the florals, i’d never think of doing that. the gray cardigan and pumps really tie in all the color combos together. super cute!

  5. Jen H July 28, 2010 at 11:41 PM #

    i love the double florals! i’m loving the top both tucked in and untucked. doing either automatically turns your outfit into a whole other look! 🙂

    you definitely make mixed patterns work by staying with the same color palette.

  6. Lisa - respect the shoes July 29, 2010 at 5:54 AM #

    I love how you mixed your patterns here – they work really well together. My fave is still the tucked in version – I think proportionally it works better and shows off your tiny waist.

    (And as a general mention, can I say I love the hair? I’ve been talking for years – literally – about chopping my crazy locks but I’m not brave enough!)

    • Stylepint July 29, 2010 at 12:38 PM #

      Thanks! I only had my hair shorter than my shoulders twice in the past seven years but this is the shortest I’ve cut it. I guess I’m not very attached to my hair and wanted a new look…so I just went with it. =)

  7. mich LA July 29, 2010 at 8:57 AM #

    I’m definitely a florals kind of girl, so I love this look! The colors on your two pieces look so pretty and since they are similar to one another, definitely make the outfit work.

    I love that M&O cardigan! The buttons are so fab. I was able to find two sheer cardigans at the Century City mall during their close-out sale and wear them all the time.

    • Stylepint July 29, 2010 at 12:39 PM #

      M+O is definitely one of my fave brands, it’s too bad that they had to close.

  8. PetiteAsianGirl July 29, 2010 at 10:04 PM #

    I forgot to comment on this b/c I read it while at work, but I love both looks. The first one more so than the second one, but still am a fan of both. And is it just me or does your haircut look better with each post?

    I also wish I got more cardigans like my mustard one from M&O before they closed. So sad.

    • Stylepint July 29, 2010 at 10:50 PM #

      Thanks! I think my hair is just growing out more so it has a mind of its own. Sometimes, I think I put outfits together based on what my hair looks like from day to day. =P

  9. Sydney July 30, 2010 at 2:13 PM #

    I really like that skirt when I first saw it. Didn’t purchase it cuz it’s probably too short on me. It looks great on you :).

  10. barbara August 3, 2010 at 1:40 PM #

    love it! I think a Gray belt would tie it together better than the black 🙂
    question…I am 5’2″ and not as petite as you but have short legs (well they reach the ground) and cannot find boots. they are all too tall and too wide!!! have you found any? the short ones make my legs look shorter. And my feet are “curvy” so a lot of shoes do not fit. Cole Haan nike airs are great but their boots are way too tall/ big!! to top it off I wear size 9…my feet are as long as my calves!!!

  11. Janice (Couture and Crayons) August 18, 2010 at 4:56 PM #

    This is genius. I like the look with the wide belt best, it breaks up the floral pattern.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wedding Trends 2010 - July 30, 2010

    […] The Look: Double Florals « Stylepint: Pint-Sized Musings […]

Leave a Reply

