Unnaturally Natural

27 Jul

Some days, I want a little drama without being too noticeable.

I like understated looks because when people do notice, the compliments feel more sincere. Red lipstick and/or colorful eyeshadows are considered over the top for me. But colored contacts are ok since you can’t tell unless you’re really looking at my eyes.

Adding half-length false lashes balance out the look of the circle lenses.

It’s funny how I end up with some of my beauty products. For example, the NYX false lashes came in a volunteer goodie bag for a summer film festival! I can’t argue with free!

Products Used:

  • Geo Angel Circle Lenses – Violet
  • Maybelline mineral foundation – Natural Ivory (Light 3)
  • Bare Minerals Hydrating Mineral Veil
  • Ulta Automatic Eyeliner – Black/Brown
  • NYX Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencil – Yogurt
  • NYX Fabulous  – EL122 Mod Squad/ Lash Grip Eyelash Glue
  • NARS blush – Orgasm
  • Sephora lip gloss – Precious Pink

To me, it takes a lot of chutzpah to have a photo without any makeup on. I’m not that brave yet.

I used to think that using Photoshop to remove zits, moles, freckles, and other “unsightly” blemishes on your face was perfectly ok since that’s the common practice for actors’ head shots and studio photography.

When it comes to blogging, I’m impressed when people are honest and don’t Photoshop their blemishes. I want to be that way too so all these photos are completely untouched…no Photoshop, nothing…except for the watermark. You can tell that I don’t have an SLR too because they’re not as crystal clear and sharp, but I think I did pretty well despite that.

And you can never negate the benefits of having good lighting, it makes up for the lack of fancy equipment.

7 Responses to “Unnaturally Natural”

  1. PetiteAsianGirl July 27, 2010 at 8:36 AM #

    You look stunning! The lenses and half falsies are perfect for this look. I’m still not on the circle lense boat yet but I do love seeing them on fellow bloggers. I’ve always loved gray lenses (had regular prescription ones once as a teen) on Asian eyes.

    Haha, for “before and after” makeup photos I post unedited shots because…I have nothing to lose. Everyone knows that few people look great before makeup is applied : )

  2. Ping July 27, 2010 at 10:24 AM #

    Cute look — very simple and not made up.
    I agree with PAG. I haven’t jumped on the contact lens wagon, but agree that they do look nice when other bloggers wear them.

    Photoshop seems like a must these days since everyone uses it. It’s refreshing to see when people don’t touch up their pics. But it works for me either way…not a biggy!

    I’d like a SLR camera too….I think. Haha. I’m not even sure what it will do, but I’d like one. But for now, my little digicam is just fine.

  3. Kerry July 27, 2010 at 10:29 AM #

    I love the last photo – it looks adorable, but not in a child like way.

  4. PetiteXXS July 27, 2010 at 7:18 PM #

    You look gorgeous! Those lenses are perfect… subtle but not so subtle that you don’t see a difference. I have the kind of face that doesn’t really look good with (heavy) make-up, so I love these natural but slightly enhanced looks. And your hair is looking good too! 🙂

  5. MizzJ July 27, 2010 at 8:56 PM #

    The lenses look really natural on you! I enjoy wearing circles lens too for a special occasion or a night out, but not for everyday as I’m worried about drying out my eyes. Hehe your non-SLR camera takes perfectly good photos!

  6. Anthea July 28, 2010 at 12:52 AM #

    You look so natural and beautiful! Awesome!

  7. Ann July 28, 2010 at 3:13 AM #

    i like your smile pic — very sweet:) love your hairstyle – i use to have it the same way cause it was fun & edgy.

Leave a Reply

