The Look: A Petite Suit – Separated

26 Jul

Everyone needs at least one three piece suit right?

Well, I don’t need to wear suits so I only have one three piece suit and it’s from Banana Republic in 00P (pants are 0P). (I’m over BR, but it doesn’t mean I’ll eliminate all BR items from my closet.)  I bought it 3-4 years ago when I was starting to job hunt and I picked it up for $150 on sale in Boston when I was visiting a friend. At the time, it fit pretty well and I thought it looked nice. But when I brought it home, my mom thought it looked too matronly when I wore it as a suit.

Even now, I don’t think I can pull off this particular look. I was never a fan of the pantsuit, but even the skirt suit seems odd when I see myself in it. Perhaps when I turn 30, I can wear this outfit, but for now, it’s a little too “old” for me.

I’ve been back to BR multiple times, but I just haven’t found a suit that looked and fit so well that would warrant another purchase. But I am on the lookout for a cute blazer.

Instead of wearing these items together, I wear them separately and it works out fine. Even though the pants and the skirt are in 0P and 00P respectively, they are now too loose for me to wear, so I had them taken in by 2-3 inches at the waist. I guess my body is becoming more womanly with a slimmer waist and more defined hips and not because I’ve lost weight (well, maybe I kept off 5 lbs the last few years…but that doesn’t count).

Here are a couple of outfits I’d wear with these suit pieces. I tried to keep the clothes as similar as possible so you can see how it’s styled.

Outfit Details: Martin + Osa cardigan – XS, Anthropologie Pearly Glow Tank – XS, Banana Republic pants – 0P (waist taken in), Forever 21 necklace, Aldo pumps

Outfit Details: Banana Republic blazer – 00P, Anthropologie tank – XS, Theory Ibbey Pant – 00P, Forever 21 necklace, Payless pumps

Outfit Details: American Eagle cardigan – XS, Anthropologie tank – XS, Banana Republic skirt – 00p (waist taken in), Jcrew skinny belt – S, Forever 21 necklace, Aldo pumps

16 Responses to “The Look: A Petite Suit – Separated”

  1. Ann July 26, 2010 at 7:49 AM #

    I am so glad I stumbled across your blog. It has a lot of helpful info for the petite person. btw, i like your skirt ensemble with the red belt. i always like a splash of color:)

  2. Curls and Pearls July 26, 2010 at 8:25 AM #

    LOL I’m in my 30’s and I can’t pull off a full suit either. I don’t even own one!

    I love the way you separate the pieces and make the work for you. Especially the blazer. I have a black one that I wore in a similar manner.

  3. Ping July 26, 2010 at 8:38 AM #

    The suit together does look matronly. I hate suits…like despise them and I don’t wear it unless I have to. I think the the pants & jacket looks kind of loose on you…is it just me?

    I love the 3 other oufits when you mixed it up. You’re great at doing that. I tend to like work outfits to be more fun and casual.

    My face is: Banana Republic blazer – 00P, Anthropologie tank – XS, Theory Ibbey Pant – 00P, Forever 21 necklace, Payless pumps. I like the outfit from head to toe and the pop of color from the necklace is great.

    • Stylepint July 26, 2010 at 12:08 PM #

      The pants are definitely loose in the leg and the jacket does have some extra room in it…but it’s not so noticeable in person. The photos really do show everything.

  4. Hanna July 26, 2010 at 8:39 AM #

    You really know how to play with colors. I really like the outfit with the red necklace, white top, paired with the black skinny jeans.
    The blazer is so much cuter when it is rolled up! I’m in love with the lining.

  5. Kerry July 26, 2010 at 9:25 AM #

    I think the jacket is too long for you. The buttons appear to be hitting in the right place, but it seems that it hits too low on your hips – might be contributing to the matronly look.

    Years ago when I was graduating from college, Bebe had suits that were TINY. They were often used on the television show Ally McBeal – Calista Flockhart is tiny, and although not that short, needed suits that did not overwhelm her.

    I think if we are going to wear suits we need to play with proportions, and even though ‘knee length’ is supposed to be the appropriate lengths for skirts, we might be better off going shorter, with shorter jackets as well.

    • Stylepint July 26, 2010 at 12:11 PM #

      I agree with the jacket, it’s overall too big and long. I’ve learned since then to find better fit items but I just haven’t picked up a suit since then. Proportion is key and I’m still working on finding the perfect mix with a lot of my outfits.

      • Hanna July 26, 2010 at 2:03 PM #

        It can totally work as a boyfriend blazer though! I think that’s why it works so well when you didn’t pair it with the dress pants. Plus, the neutral color of the blazer can totally go with a bold color, feminine dress. Boyfriend blazers topped with dresses is my favorite look and hopefully the masculine style will stick around…

  6. PetiteAsianGirl July 26, 2010 at 11:53 AM #

    My favorite ensemble is your BR jacket w/ the sleeves cuffed up and worn with black slim pants. I believe I had the same suit (sold it off on eBay for a total loss…) and the reason it can’t be worn as a set is because the blazer is too long for us, despite being in petite sizing. Like Ping said it looks ultra matronly, esp. with the skirt.

    I thought skirt suits jsut were not for me until I tried on the Theory tweed “shrunken fit” suit (that many of the petite bloggers all own) and the reason that works is because the jacket is cropped and hits a little below the waist, versus below the hip. It was like an a-ha moment!

    • Stylepint July 26, 2010 at 12:13 PM #

      I definitely can see your point with the shrunken fit suit, everyone that wears that Theory suit looks so good! I definitely will be on the lookout for that style from now on. =)

  7. Linda July 26, 2010 at 7:23 PM #

    I love the blazer paired with the feminine top and slim black pants. You look very modern (and work appropriate)!

  8. PetiteXXS July 26, 2010 at 7:31 PM #

    I also agree that when worn together the pieces look too big and overwhelm your frame… but they work really well as individual pieces! I love the pop of color from your necklace too!

  9. Christine July 26, 2010 at 8:21 PM #

    I think pulling off a suit is all about the cut, no matter your age. I actually prefer the traditional length jackets versus the cropped styles as they have a chicness to them that the cropped ones don’t. (See the Sartorialist and J.Crew Super 120s Nouvelle Jacket which has finally been released in petites! I actually emailed them twice begging for it to be offered in petites.) The jacket just has to be slim enough, and you have to remember the sleeve length– yours could probably be at least 1.5″ shorter.

    • Stylepint July 26, 2010 at 9:22 PM #

      I guess I never gave suits a chance since I never found one that actually fit properly. For a while, I considered getting one custom made in Asia, but since I don’t go very often, I haven’t had an opportunity. As for J.Crew, I love their styles, but I can’t fit into their petite sizes unless they’ve changed the fit to be significantly smaller in the last six months. Though it’s definitely possible, I’m not sure if I can pay so much for an experiment.

  10. MizzJ July 26, 2010 at 11:03 PM #

    Ugh what a terrible suit! You could be Angelina and look like a grandma in it. The alternate options you styled here make this look eons better. That statement necklace is a keeper!

  11. Vivian July 27, 2010 at 7:11 AM #

    Thanks for your comment! Love how you styled them all separately! Especially how you wore the blazer and that blue cardi looks fantastic on you!

    xx Vivian @ http://diamondsandtulle.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

