The Look: The Romper

22 Jul

The romper, the jumpsuit, and the playsuit have been a summer staple for quite some time but there’s always mixed emotions about them. Some say they’re too childish, outlandish, or just plain weird.

For me, I think it depends on the style and cut of the romper that can make or break it. It took me quite some time to find a romper that I really loved and even when I purchased it on clearance in the middle of winter, I wasn’t sure if I’d still like come summer.  But once I pulled it out, I fell in love with it all over again.

Though it’s not supposed to be wrinkly, I love the texture that is added to the garment, it makes it more distinctive.

Outfit Details: Mike & Chris silk romper – XS, Forever 21 bangles, random chandelier earrings, Charles David Awaken wedges

Instead of making this romper beach casual (with flip flops + fedora), I wanted to dress it up so I could wear it out for dinner near the beach.

9 Responses to “The Look: The Romper”

  1. ping July 22, 2010 at 7:42 AM #

    the romper looks great on you! i love how you dressed it up. i am actually wearing my red forever21 romper as i am typing this. heehee

    it’s a definite do!!

  2. Cher July 22, 2010 at 8:29 AM #

    That one is cute. I kind of have mixed feelings about it. I don’t really like them, but there are a few rompers that I would consider, like the one that Nicole Richie wore out the first time that pretty much launched the trend a few years back. However, one of my biggest issues is, how the heck are you supposed to go the bathroom? LOL. So not cool that you basically have to strip down completely, especially if you have to do it in a public restroom. And if you wear a belt with it (which is probably how I would wear it)? Ack!

    • Stylepint July 22, 2010 at 11:55 AM #

      For this romper, the belt is attached, so I don’t have to worry about losing it. And yes, the bathroom issue…but I’m not a huge fan of public restrooms anyway, so I make sure to go to one that’s super clean…and private. =)

  3. PetiteAsianGirl July 22, 2010 at 10:49 AM #

    I looove rompers! They are one of my fave things for summer, but I do feel a little silly sometimes wearing them around because I have yet to see anyone else with one on in my neighborhood.

    I think the top of this one looks great on you, and the waist fits well, but I think the bottom is too long and looks disproportionate to the top half. I would hem the shorts, but that is just personal preference : )

    • Stylepint July 22, 2010 at 12:04 PM #

      I do agree that the bottom is a bit long. I’m still figuring out how to make it shorter without completely taking it apart. If I cuff it, the inner fabric shows and I need to make the pockets smaller…but if I shorten the waist area and re-attach, I have to re-do the belt loops. So maybe this is one I need to take to the tailor and see what they can do. =P

      • PetiteAsianGirl July 22, 2010 at 5:28 PM #

        So I had my tailor hem cuffed shorts w/ pockets once. She removed the cuff part and just re-attached it higher up, instead of re-cuffing the material. That way the inner fabric won’t show. She also shortened the insides of the pockets like you mentioned. I trust that you can do this alteration yourself and save some $!

  4. PetiteXXS July 22, 2010 at 3:58 PM #

    Hmm… I like how you dressed it up, but I’m still not entirely convinced about the wrinkles! I think the wrinkly texture makes it look a little more casual, and it would look more dressy if the silk was smooth. And I agree with PAG that the bottom looks a little big compared to the top. Btw it’s great to see you working the haircut! 🙂

  5. reallypetite July 22, 2010 at 11:25 PM #

    I am not a big fan of rompers but I do have ONE free people romper I wear around the house. Never thought to wear it it like this but you pulled if off!

    I agree with the other ladies- the bottom is too big for you. A slight hem and I think it would look great!!!

  6. Hanna July 25, 2010 at 9:55 PM #

    I still haven’t been brave enough to go out and try one let alone own one. You are going to laugh but I’m like DEATHLY scared of having a camel-toe.

    Case and Point here: http://www.urbanoutfitters.com/urban/catalog/productdetail.jsp?isProduct=true&wishlist=true&color=012&navAction=jump&parentid=W_APP_JUMPERS&id=18813717

    I mean the fabric looks soft and promising and looks like it can wrap around your body like a glove. I even like the playful splattering of purple…

    Perhaps the best way a romper should be is to wear it with glamour like you are wearing it now. I have to agree the shorts are a little long but hey long better than short that’s my opinion.

Leave a Reply

