Fun with Portraits

14 Jul

I was testing out a new lighting setup the other day and took a couple of shots to check how things looked. Sadly, my camera was having a fit and wouldn’t focus properly so all the photos were slightly blurry.

Instead of running to a corner and crying for all that wasted effort, I set my sights on something different. I used the blurriness to my advantage with Photoshop to make them “painted”.

But as for the lighting setup, I need about two more lights to make it just right, a hair light and a secondary fill. Bah! Only I would do something so nit-picky…who really cares about having a light kit?

Most of the time, I use natural light from the patio window but I’m becoming dissatisfied with the shadows in the photos. It would be awesome to take pictures outdoors, but taking them on my own makes me nervous of onlookers. So finding better ways to take photos indoors is my primary solution.

4 Responses to “Fun with Portraits”

  1. Ping July 14, 2010 at 11:00 AM #

    I totally know what you mean. You probably have a better camera than I do, I use just a regular digicam to take my pics. Lighting can be so tricky! I can stand in the same spot and take 2 pics (one after another) and the lighting will come out totally different.

    • Stylepint July 14, 2010 at 5:44 PM #

      I just have a regular point and shoot, nothing fancy. Seriously, lighting is hard to get right!

  2. Nelah July 14, 2010 at 2:59 PM #

    I just found your blog. I think your pictures turn out good.

    This is not related to photography but your hair looks chic and modern. I really like it. This cut suits and shapes your face nicely, it really compliments your happy face .

    • Stylepint July 14, 2010 at 5:44 PM #

      Thanks! I never thought to go this short until recently and I think it’s a keeper! =)

Leave a Reply

