The Look: Menswear

9 Jul

I got my Nordstrom catalog this weekend and while flipping through it, I was inspired by the fall colors and the menswear looks. Though it’s clearly too early to break out the fall gear, the overcast weather here makes me lean toward the darker colors.

Plus, with my new hair, I’m sure I can pull off the menswear look better than when I had the bob.

Outfit Details: Martin + Osa tuxedo shirt – XS, Theory Kissan Pant – 00, J.Crew skinny belt – S, Payless black pumps

When I think of a man’s outfit, it usually consists of three main items (aside from the tie)

Button-down shirt + Black Trousers + Belt = Basic Men’s Outfit

So doing a play on the traditional look, I paired a tuxedo shirt with a pleated harem pant for texture and visual interest. The skinny belt provides a pop of color to complete the look. Since the pant sits on my hip, it elongates my torso while the heels keep the body proportions in balance.

As I was walking around, someone mentioned that I looked more confident with this particular look, but I think it’s the hair.

5 Responses to “The Look: Menswear”

  1. Erin July 9, 2010 at 8:25 AM #

    Ooooo I really like the haircut! Love the look too. I have been thinking about buying that Martin + Osa tuxedo top 🙂 Maybe I need it?

    • Stylepint July 9, 2010 at 1:36 PM #

      Thanks! I love having more “unusual” shirts like the tuxedo top because regular button-downs just look boring on me. If that shirt’s still available…you should get it! =)

  2. Christine July 9, 2010 at 8:35 AM #

    I’ve been following your blog for a few months now, but first time commenting. I just wanted to say: your hair looks FANTASTIC! It makes you look much more chic and sophisticated. I’ve always loved short hair, but I’ve finally learned that I just can’t pull it off with my face shape/bone structure.

    • Stylepint July 9, 2010 at 1:38 PM #

      Thanks so much! It’s always nice to hear from a follower! I tried to go short before (like a 1920’s bob) but it failed because I gained weight at the same time, so I ended up looking young and pudgy. Still, it’s nice to experiment with different styles to find what works best on your face shape. =)

  3. Anthea July 19, 2010 at 6:37 AM #

    I really love this look! You pull it off perfectly!

Leave a Reply

