Big Patterns

6 Jul

I got this shift dress from Wasteland about a year ago. The length is just right for wearing flats and a bit short to pair with heels. Though it’s a large print/pattern, I think it works quite well.

Looking for petite tips online always frustrate me. Sometimes, they’re spot on with advice and other times, they’re way off base. I tend to read the rules and adjust according to my situation. There are always exceptions to rules, especially when it comes to fashion.

The rule that I’m breaking this time….

If a print is larger than your fist or if stripes are large and wide, it’s not flattering and can be overwhelming for a petite.

This dress was just too cute and I went with my instincts to keep it.

A simple belt in an accent color provides some emphasis to the waist and gives me an hourglass shape. Since the stripes are at a diagonal, it creates the illusion of a more curvaceous figure instead of just making the body look wide (horizontal stripes) or lean (vertical stripes).

At first, I paired my black flats with this outfit, but it didn’t look right so I switched over to gladiator sandals and I think it works a lot better since it doesn’t chop off the line of the foot.

Outfit Details: Collective Clothing shift dress – S, Martin + Osa belt – S, Muzina sandals, Ross flats

What do you think? Can petites wear larger prints and stripes without looking overwhelmed?

4 Responses to “Big Patterns”

  1. good girl gone blog July 6, 2010 at 10:42 AM #

    I love it! Continue breaking rules!!

  2. Janine July 8, 2010 at 7:39 AM #

    I think they can, you look amazing here!

  3. MizzJ July 10, 2010 at 1:44 PM #

    I totally agree, the gladiators look much better than the flats, which were blah and made you look a bit shorter. The slight heel elongates your legs. Rules are only meant as guidelines I think, and I rarely listen to them myself. I agree that you have to listen to your instincts and learn to have a critical eye for what works and what doesn’t on your figure.

Leave a Reply

