Stepping Out of the Box

5 Jul

I hope everyone had a great 4th of July weekend! I got to hang out in Torrance and see the fireworks.

This weekend’s outfit was a bit different than what I usually wear. I don’t often wear green tops and in bright Granny Smith Apple green no less.

But I bought this top in XXS from Martin + Osa and since I can’t return it anymore, I might as well make use of it. It’s supposed to be a tunic, but it works more like a dress.

There are two giant pockets on each side of the garment and it works great if you want to emphasize your hips, but other than that, it’s not really that flattering. Adding a belt gives this top some shape and provides some structure to this flowy garment.

Outfit Details: Martin + Osa Silk Racerback Tank Tunic – XXS, American Apparel Floral Lace Bodysuit – XS, DIY silk bubble skirt, Charles David Awaken wedges, Urban Outfitters braided belt, random chandelier earrings

Petite Tip:

When wearing a bold color, it’s best to keep  the rest of the outfit in a neutral color palette and use smaller accessories. Adding texture instead of color can work to your advantage.

3 Responses to “Stepping Out of the Box”

  1. PetiteXXS July 5, 2010 at 7:41 AM #

    I can’t believe how huge that “tunic” was, but I think you really made it work! Note to self, learn how to make silk bubble skirt 🙂

  2. Good Girl Gone Blog July 5, 2010 at 7:05 PM #

    I like it, I like it a lot!

  3. Elle August 20, 2010 at 7:57 AM #

    Gorgeous outfit!I liked that even though there are lots of pieces at work, the outfit looks like it’s incredibly coherent and could’ve been part of the same dress.

Leave a comment