The Perks of Being a Smallflower

1 Jul

Being short can have its advantages. For me, I’ve picked a few quirks unintentionally due to my height.

One of them is that I stand on tiptoe while doing the dishes. When I was younger, I would always be on tiptoe to reach the sink, but now that I’m older and taller, I don’t have to tiptoe, but I do it subconsciously so that the counter feels lower.

Every so often, I find myself walking around the house on tiptoe, not because I want to be unnoticed, but it feels comfortable somehow.

Because of this unusual habit, my mother believes that it makes my gait look more natural when wearing heels. It’s like my feet were make for them because when I wear flats, I tend to have that dancer’s stance…or a duck-footed waddle that she finds unladylike.

While I don’t entirely agree, I do feel more comfortable in heels than flats. But flats are convenient when you’re walking long distances. I know, wearing heels isn’t good for my feet in the long term. I also know I can’t flex my feet past 90 degrees, but that’s where yoga comes in to help stretch out my calves.

What perks/quirks have you gained from your stature?

3 Responses to “The Perks of Being a Smallflower”

  1. sparrow July 1, 2010 at 2:59 AM #

    Too funny! I do the same thing! I actually find that I get quite annoyed at the house in general when I don’t walk on my toes – the microwave feels too high, the oven’s at the wrong height, my reflection in the kitchen window seems stumpy, and I seem to find a subconscious comfort in feeling the bathroom counter top sitting under, rather than over, my hip bones while I’m brushing my teeth.

    The other quirks I’ve gotten used to include using office stationery to make my clothes fit better (paper clips to hold shirts or cardigans closed, bull dog clips to hold away excess material from skirts or pants and tacks to fasten my bra straps to my tops to stop them from gaping open).

    Strangely, I also tend to slouch while standing in line or while talking to someone. I suspect that when I was little, I thought that people would think I was short because I was slouching, not because I was short LOL. Now I can’t help it.

  2. good girl gone blog July 1, 2010 at 6:28 AM #

    I totally know what you mean about heels being more comfy than flats- I was just telling my parents that when they suggested I wear flats because of a sore ankle. I guess they could be right…

  3. Laura July 16, 2010 at 4:35 AM #

    great post and blog, never really thought about quirks i had due to my height until i saw this post. like sparrow said i also use clips to make my clothes fit better, i too stand on my tip toes a lot. i’ll be thinking all day now what quirks i have because of my height lol.

Leave a Reply

