Loving the Jewels

29 Jun

When I can’t think of anything to wear, I always resort to jewel tones. Sure, it’d be nice to move away from those colors, but they just look so good.

And it’s simple.

The more I take photos of this skirt from Zara, the more I notice that it doesn’t quite fit as well as I thought. It puckers in funny places and it isn’t so flattering.

Since it’s not lined, I’m gonna try to fix it myself so it fits better. If I completely fail, I’ll just send it to the tailor.

Outfit Details: Martin + Osa pullover sweater, Zara skirt, Urban Outfitters braided belt, Payless pumps, Random chandelier earrings

I definitely tend to go for neutrals or jewel tones when it comes to color-coordinating outfits.

What are your favorite colors to wear?

13 Responses to “Loving the Jewels”

  1. Ping June 29, 2010 at 2:38 PM #

    i am the complete opposite! colors scare me and my closet consist of black, gray and white…and maybe a little blue.

    i am the only girl in my office and i don’t really care at the moment about looking cute. it’s funny because i used to care when i had female coworkers. i think us girls dress more for each other. lol

    • Stylepint June 29, 2010 at 4:16 PM #

      I tend to wear outfits for myself…not really for anyone else since it’s not really a female-dominated office. Then again, I don’t really hang out with too many girls…so I don’t really know that feeling.

      • MizzJ June 29, 2010 at 9:27 PM #

        Same here. I dress for myself b/c dressing nice makes me feel good, whether anyone compliments me or not. The colors I wear change with the seasons.. right now I’m very into neutrals and baby pink.

  2. PetiteXXS June 29, 2010 at 3:25 PM #

    I think jewel tones can look really good too… but I also like soft pastels… but I’ve been wearing a lot of neutrals lately. I’m kind of all over the place sometimes 🙂

    • Stylepint June 29, 2010 at 4:19 PM #

      I’m trying to work on adding soft pastels and other colors, but they make me look a bit dull sometimes. Not quite sure what colors work best on me aside from jewel tones.

  3. Alterations Needed June 29, 2010 at 4:18 PM #

    LOL…I JUST bought that exact same UO belt on Friday! Love it!

    I love jewel tones too. I like to hide them under a jacket or cardigan, so it’s more like a pop of color peaking out than a “wham” of color.

    • Stylepint June 29, 2010 at 5:22 PM #

      That’s awesome. The braided belt comes in handy since I don’t have to add additional holes to it.

  4. Cher June 29, 2010 at 5:49 PM #

    I usually try and stay with jewel tones myself. My yellow undertone does not allow for any sort of pastels. I will wear yellow, but in a bold, bright color, instead of something pale. The colors that sort of in between a jewel tone and a pastel confuse me a bit though. I have to take it on a case by case basis.

    • Stylepint June 29, 2010 at 9:08 PM #

      I totally understand that feeling. Some shades are just not cut out for us.

  5. Good Girl Gone Blog June 29, 2010 at 6:13 PM #

    Red, always red- it’s elegant, classy and looks great with light skin and dark hair!

    • Stylepint June 29, 2010 at 9:08 PM #

      Gotta love a good red color…definitely a great accent! =)

  6. really petite June 30, 2010 at 11:13 PM #

    OMG- I am looking for a black or brown braided belt! How long ago did you get that belt? I must have it!! Super cute!

    Love your new header!

    • Stylepint July 1, 2010 at 12:42 AM #

      I got mine like two years ago, but U.O. seems to love it and they…here’s the link to a similar one at U.O.

Leave a Reply

