A Remix of Sorts

28 Jun

Looking through old photos not only reminds me of my past experiences, but the clothes I’ve worn.

My friends and I have been reminiscing a lot lately since a few are leaving SoCal soon. One is heading to medical school in Chicago and another is going to law school in San Francisco. We were talking about the silly parties we used to have at the end of the year and I remembered a skirt I made for one of those events.

For the banquet, a couple of us decided to dress up as the cast from the Cat in the Hat.

I had made a circle skirt jumper in less than an hour all those years ago and I found it hidden in a bag in my closet. It didn’t look much worse for wear and still had that brand new smell.

Honestly, I’m not sure why I made this circle skirt so long aside from being slightly self-conscious about my legs. It sat at my natural waist, but the length was 24-25 inches which hung well below my knees.

I tried it on again and noticed that I had busted the waist seams and that’s why I never wore it again. Also, my waist shrunk a good two inches so now the skirt sat my hips. I had to do some sewing to get it back in working order.

What did I change?

  • Removed the straps
  • Adjusted the waist, took it in by two inches
  • Shortened the hem by three inches

Outfit Details: DIY skirt, Guess tube top – XS, Nordstrom ruffled cardigan – S, Gap obi belt – S/M, random amber necklace, Aldo pumps

Now that I’m more comfortable with my body, the skirt feels long, but it kind of has a vintage look to it. I’m keeping the length and I’ll probably figure out other outfits to go with this skirt.

I’m liking this update of an old “costume-y” skirt.

11 Responses to “A Remix of Sorts”

  1. good girl gone blog June 28, 2010 at 9:01 AM #

    I like it a lot! Nice alteration skills 🙂

    • Stylepint June 28, 2010 at 6:57 PM #

      Thanks! I’m still working on improving my sewing skills! =)

  2. PetiteAsianGirl June 28, 2010 at 11:00 AM #

    A few changes definitely brought some new life to this skirt! I like the vibrant color and how nicely the fabric drapes.

    • Stylepint June 28, 2010 at 6:59 PM #

      Thanks! It’s just a thick jersey fabric cut on the bias which helps it drape better. =)

  3. PetiteXXS June 28, 2010 at 3:29 PM #

    The skirt looks great! Sewing skills are so handy 🙂

    • Stylepint June 28, 2010 at 7:02 PM #

      Still working the sewing skills, but it works when it’s simple projects.

  4. Ping June 28, 2010 at 3:49 PM #

    the skirt is a great color…i think that blue is great on asian skin. i have a few items in that color and i always get tons of compliment on it.

    i like the ruffle cardigan too. i’d definitely wear that to work with black trousers.

    i wished i had the patience to fix things. i have a box of things (they are really new and some still have tags on them) that i don’t want because they are too loose or don’t fit properly.

    • Stylepint June 28, 2010 at 7:00 PM #

      It’s not often that I fix my clothes. I have more items waiting my project bin than completed ones. But it’s still nice to have one less on the list.

  5. Really Petite June 28, 2010 at 4:07 PM #

    I love the ruffled cardigan!! So feminine and pretty! The skirt looks great- I love how flowy it is:)

    • Stylepint June 28, 2010 at 7:02 PM #

      Thanks! I love the cardigan too, but I’m still figuring other ways to wear it. =)

  6. MizzJ June 29, 2010 at 9:41 PM #

    Great remix! That color looks gorgeous on you and I too like the vintage feel about that skirt length.

Leave a Reply

