My Bare Essentials

26 Jun

I wear makeup but I’m not obsessed with it.

Usually, I wear the minimum amount to look presentable.

My foundation provides more coverage than a tinted moisturizer because my skin tends to get a pink undertone that I don’t quite appreciate. But aside from that, I’ve accepted the peculiarities of my facial features and skin conditions.

Sometimes, I wish cosmetic brands would make it easier to find things that work for my skin type, but I guess trial and error works best. There are so many brands out there now, how can one choose to stick with a single brand anymore?

Aside from facial moisturizer, here is my basic daily makeup regimen

  • Stila Illuminating liquid foundation – 50 watts
  • Nars pressed powder – Fiji
  • Nars blush – Orgasm
  • Origins Sheer lip gloss – Fruit Punch
  • Ulta Automatic Eyeliner -black/brown
  • Sephora Lash Plumper mascara – black

And a few extras

  • Marc Jacobs perfume – Daisy
  • OPI Nail Lacquer – Cosmo-Not Tonight Honey

When I want to dress up, I add liquid eyeliner, false lashes, and a bit of eyeshadow for dramatic effect. Though I have several eyeshadow palettes, I don’t use them very often.

Keeping things natural and simple is best. Cake-face isn’t a good look for anyone. So for me, the minimal look is my main objective.

4 Responses to “My Bare Essentials”

  1. MizzJ June 26, 2010 at 11:48 AM #

    Ah Orgasm, the most perfect blush ever! I am a huge fan of Nars products and Clinique for facial products. You are totally right on the less is more idea for makeup. Sometimes I watch these vid tutorials and it just boggles my mind that some people can go through this whole process of putting on “their face” everyday!

    • Stylepint June 26, 2010 at 9:05 PM #

      I’m enjoying the NARS blush…it has just the right amount of pink and shimmer without being too noticeable. I understand about the whole makeup vid tutorials…they must go through so much product to be that done up everyday! =P

  2. PetiteAsianGirl June 27, 2010 at 9:59 AM #

    I’m in total agreement – I wear enough to look presentable on an every-day basis. I’ve heard nothing but good stuff about NARS but I don’t want to splurge! For going out though, I’m trying to play around more with other makeup (eyeshadows, falsies, lipstick, etc) to spice things up a little.

  3. PetiteXXS June 28, 2010 at 3:40 PM #

    I’m a newbie when it comes to makeup and it’s truly overwhelming to decide what to get with so many brands with so many products out there. I keep hearing about Nars Orgasm though… will probably get that if I decide to start wearing blush!

Leave a Reply

