The Wrap Shirt

19 Jun

I have this wrap shirt, but I don’t wear it that often because I’m not sure how to style it.

It has that military detailing which makes it challenging to layer since it has so much going on. Two details on a shirt is more than enough for a petite…three is pushing it. Needless to say, if I was taller, all these details wouldn’t make this shirt look so busy.

Anyways, I have two basic outfits that go with this top, but I need some fresh ideas.

The first outfit is pretty boring I must say. I might add a small pendant necklace, but other than that…maybe some colorful pumps? I tried a chunky necklace or a longer chain one, but it doesn’t go.

How can it look more interesting?

Outfit Details: Banana Republic Military Wrap Shirt – XSP, Theory Kissan Pant – 00p, H&M bracelets, Payless pumps

What about the second outfit?


The second outfit is cheerier and lighter. Though the vest hides some of the details of the shirt, it works fine. The print of the skirt compensates for the lack of color in the rest of the outfit.

Outfit Details: Banana Republic Military Wrap Shirt – XSP, Forever 21 skirt- XS, Madewell vest – XS, Aldo pumps

Those are my two outfit ideas for this wrap top. I want to wear it more often because it’s pretty and it’s on trend, but I’m out of creative ideas.  So, I need a bit of help.

Any suggestions on how to style this wrap top?

4 Responses to “The Wrap Shirt”

  1. sparrow June 20, 2010 at 12:02 AM #

    I actually think you’ve hit the nail on the head with the first look – it’s chic, sleek and sophisticated and, most importantly, doesn’t look like you’ve even tried to be too stylish. While the details are busy, the black pants bring everything back into line. I might add ropes of wooden beads, or a bright red necklace, but you said you tried the chunky necklace and it didn’t work.

    The second outfit is not for me. I find it too busy and I think this shirt is more about “architecture” than colour, if you know what I mean… it’s not that the shirt is boring because it lacks colour – it’s actually not a boring shirt at all! That’s why it works so well in the first outfit – let the “architecture” of the shirt work its magic. To put it another way, I don’t think you’d look out of place going to work at a magazine with that first outfit on – I can totally see you poring over negatives, styling models and directing a photo shoot as the elegant and chic art director. Strong lines, strong edges, unpretentious, but totally confident!

    • Stylepint June 20, 2010 at 7:28 PM #

      Thanks! I’ll definitely try out a different set of necklaces…I never would have thought of wooden beads!

  2. MizzJ June 20, 2010 at 1:10 AM #

    Both outfits are very nice, though I do think the 2nd one is more interesting from a fashion pov with the vest detail and the colors of the skirt. As for accessorizing the shirt, I would say a simple necklace close to the neck consisting of say the large wooden beads suggested above could work, or perhaps try wearing some chandelier earrings to draw the eye to your face, or a chunky bracelet?

    • Stylepint June 20, 2010 at 7:29 PM #

      Oooh! Chandelier earrings….I totally forgot I even have a pair. I should try that out. Thanks for the advice! =)

Leave a Reply

