Bandages Anyone?

15 Jun

I was cleaning out my inspiration folder and I came across this photo of Michelle Williams. I love her outfit and I adore her bandage skirt. It’s different yet flattering, but I can’t figure out where it’s from!

<<Source>>

I have a bandage skirt of my own, but I don’t wear it very often because I’m self-conscious of my hips and thighs, which is exactly the area the skirt accentuates. To me, they’re humungous and for a while, I was a size bigger on bottom than on top. Since I’ve been exercising more regularly, the “fatness” has slimmed down some. But that doesn’t mean I’m going to bust out wearing short shorts and such.

The beauty of camera angles is that you can “hide” your flaws but when you’re romping around town, you can’t hide anything. There is no “good side” when you’re on the street.

So how did I wear the bandage skirt?

Over the weekend, my sister graduated from college and I got the opportunity to watch the ceremony with my parents. The next day, we had brunch and this is what I wore.

Being surrounded by collegiates, I wanted to look more polished, but casual. This definitely did the job, though I noticed my skirt kept riding up as I was walking around. Thankfully, I didn’t suffer a wardrobe malfunction. Later in the day, we had to help my sister move out of her apartment, so I needed to change into “moving clothes.”

As much as I enjoy this skirt, I either have to be more comfortable with my body or find a non-riding bandage skirt.

Outfit Details: Zara Breton silk tunic – XS, Arden B. bandage skirt – XS, Steve Madden Tuxxedo oxford flats, Martin + Osa bib necklace

If I changed the outfit to a black pencil skirt and pumps, I think this would be work appropriate. But with the length of the bandage skirt, it just wouldn’t be proper.

5 Responses to “Bandages Anyone?”

  1. PetiteAsianGirl June 15, 2010 at 9:08 AM #

    I LOVE that tunic!

    I think with bandage skirts, they vary in quality and ability to “conceal.” Wearing appropriate undergarments is also key. I ordered a Rachel Roy knit skirt which turned out to be bandage-esque, and it showed lumps in all sorts of bad places.

  2. PetiteXXS June 15, 2010 at 1:44 PM #

    I think you look great in that outfit and I love the pop of color from the necklace. That reminds me, I need to start buying accessories!

  3. MizzJ June 15, 2010 at 11:07 PM #

    I think you look super cute and this would be totally appropriate at my casual office. Michelle looks gorgeous in her bright green bandage skirt.

  4. Joy June 21, 2010 at 4:34 PM #

    The skirt Michelle Williams is wearing is by Boy by Band of Outsiders. I’ve seen it in person several times, very cute. http://www.openingceremony.us/products.asp?menuid=2&designerid=92&productid=17924

    • Stylepint June 21, 2010 at 5:05 PM #

      Thanks! It’s nice to know where it’s from. =)

Leave a Reply

