Remembering Our Natural Resources

1 Jun

When was the last time you drank from a public water fountain?

The last time I remember was probably before college, though I may have used one in a museum at one point or another. For some reason, I don’t think I would actually drink from the fountain pictured above.

Memorial Day has passed and I hope everyone had a relaxing holiday. When I’m reminded of all those people who gave their lives to protect our freedoms, I also think about how rich we are in natural resources. We seldom worry about the bare necessities like food, water, and shelter because it’s so available in America. But in other parts of the world, those fundamental items are lacking.

It is this perspective that has pulled me away from posting lately. Fashion and shopping seem trivial in light of this recent revelation.

I take a lot of things for granted, especially water since it’s included in my rent. California has been in a drought since 2007 and though we’re probably nearing the end of the drought period, I am still reminded that we shouldn’t waste anything.

Given the seemingly endless availability of water, I think some don’t believe that we have mandatory water rationing in effect. And to think, I’ve overheard diners complain that restaurants are providing water only upon request.

A while back I went to the Annenberg Space for Photography for the National Geographic exhibit called Water: Our Thirsty World. I ended up going back twice because it had such a profound impact on me. Can you imagine waking up at 4 AM to take a multi-mile long trek to bring a 5 gallon jug of water weighing 40 lbs back to your home?

I can barely carry my bi-weekly bags of groceries up the flight of stairs without thinking of pressing the elevator button much less a 40 lb jug of water! Living in a major metropolitan city has its perks and I best not forget how to appreciate them. l want to be better about watching my water consumption.

In my New Year’s Resolution, I wanted to diminish waste and be more environmentally savvy. Water conservation fits right into those goals. One step that I have avoided is bottled water since I think of it as excess, which is partly validated by this video about bottled water consumption.

It has been a while since I’ve put up challenges for myself so I’ll start again with June. Though I don’t buy bottled water, I do use water filters, which might as well be the same thing. I think the tap water tastes better after it’s been filtered but it might all be in my head. So for the month of June, it’s “Drink the Tap” month.

5 Responses to “Remembering Our Natural Resources”

  1. Erin June 1, 2010 at 8:17 AM #

    Great post! I took a class last semester about natural resources and their vulnerability to attack… I focused on water, so I know what you mean about this issue. I think if more people were aware of how important water is, they would take conservation much more seriously!

  2. Christine June 1, 2010 at 1:26 PM #

    While it’s great that you’re trying to be more environmentally savvy, water filters are not the same as bottled water. The waste in bottled water comes from transporting it and the bottle itself. Filters can be used many times over and water from the tap that is then filtered, is still tap water. There is nothing un-environmental about using a filter if your tap water needs filtering. There is some waste involved depending on the filter you use, but that beats drinking contaminants.

    http://www.thegreenguide.com/buying-guide/water-filters

    • Stylepint June 1, 2010 at 9:07 PM #

      I know water filters aren’t exactly the same as water bottles but given that I live in a metropolitan city, there is a really low chance of contaminants. So the water filter isn’t as effective since there’s not much to filter out. When the filter needs to be replaced, it ends up in the garbage since I haven’t found a way to recycle it yet. By the way, I did check out that water filter guide and it’s pretty helpful. Thanks!

  3. Nish July 22, 2010 at 8:07 AM #

    You might be surprised by just how much contaminants there could be. Just the process by which water is delivered to your taps could cause contamination.

    I don’t know if you should be taking chances with your health…just my two cents.

    I just happened on your blog today and I really love your style :). Bookmarked it for further reading

    • Stylepint July 22, 2010 at 11:54 AM #

      Thanks for stopping by. I did read up reports on the water quality in my area and it’s supposed to be one of the best with the least amount of contaminants. Since I live in a major city, I doubt there are problems that would lead to sickness or ill health. And I did a bit of research on bottled water and it has just about the same amount of contaminants…there’s not much difference. Plus, filtering the water with a carbon filter helps pick up some extra things in the water, but I think it’s minimal. It only changes the taste of the water to taste like carbon for me. I’ve taken my chances and I’m still alive. =P

Leave a Reply

