What Did I Get at H&M?

20 May

It’s been about a year since I bought clothes from H&M.

I had a notorious addiction to H&M for a while because it was relatively cheap, trendy, and available. When I noticed that I was buying things on a whim instead of really loving a piece, I had to put an end to it. So, I refused to go into the store for a few months and pretty soon, I almost forgot that H&M existed.

Still, I needed to confront my shopping demon vis-à-vis. After all, what’s the use of being a “recovered addict” if you still have an unhealthy attraction for your past temptation? The true test comes when you can still retain your senses and make good decisions despite being in a high-risk situation.

For me, I needed to go back to H&M and see if the pull to purchase could be tamed. If I could walk away from the store with nothing in hand, it would be a victory. But even if I did purchase something, it had to be something of value, quality, and would stand the test of time. I don’t want to buy any more clothes that will look ridiculous to wear five years down the road. It sounds a bit excessive, but I think it’s proper planning for my wardrobe.

After all, I don’t want to be one of those people who wear only 20% of the items in their closet on a regular basis. I prefer to maximize my clothing “investments” and make sure that I’m getting the most use out of it. What’s the point of having beautiful clothes but it never gets worn?

But anyways, back to H&M.

What did I get?

I picked up a black sheath dress in size 2.

When I saw this dress on the rack, it didn’t appeal much to me other than it was in a size 2. I really wanted a classic sheath, especially after the post by Really Petite but I haven’t found one that I loved. Though I’ve had my eye on several dresses from Ann Taylor and Theory, I’m unsure about the fit and I don’t want to spend over $100 to find out.

When I tried on this dress in size 2, it fit pretty well. It’s fully-lined and well-constructed despite a penchant for wrinkling. It skims my body instead of making me feel like a stuffed sausage.

My nit-picky complaints are that there is a slight gap where the straps sit and there is a one inch gap at the nape of neck. If I were to alter this dress, I’d shorten the shoulder straps by half an inch so the top would sit better on me. I’d taper the skirt slightly to make it more slimming and shorten the hem by 2-3 inches. But overall, it doesn’t look bad as is.

In the end, I picked up a classic wardrobe staple at H&M. It’s a sheath dress but it can also be my little black dress, LBD. I’m feeling more like a grown-up now.

Outfit Details: H&M sheath dress – 2 , Payless pumps

4 Responses to “What Did I Get at H&M?”

  1. diaryofashopper May 20, 2010 at 6:01 PM #

    Very classic. It looks perfect on you! Love your shoes too. I feel the same way about not buying a gazillion cheap pieces that will sit at the back of my closet. I’m working on just buying things I love, and having less pieces. It makes dressing so much easier, when I am not overwhelmed by an overflowing closet. 🙂

  2. MizzJ May 20, 2010 at 11:23 PM #

    You look stunning and so sophisticated! Definitely a good buy

  3. PetiteXXS May 21, 2010 at 12:17 AM #

    Wow that’s a really great find for $35! I have a black sheath dress from BR that I bought ages ago (on sale) that is still waiting for alterations before I can wear it… but definitely a wardrobe staple. Glad you found yours!

  4. NancyJ May 22, 2010 at 5:42 AM #

    I love H&M! Thank God I don’t have a store nearby and only get to one when I’m in NYC. I have only bought tops and sweaters there and it really rounds out my wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

