To Infinity and Beyond

13 May

A while back, I made my own version of DKNY’s infinity dress.

Since then, I slightly shorted the dress but I think I might have to re-do the entire dress since its construction wasn’t completely thought out. In my stack of projects, I have another version to create in the near future so that it can be worn without a back middle seam. But I haven’t had time to execute it just yet.

Anyways, I thought I should at least put up another way to wear the dress…as a halter. There are many ways to wear this dress, but I’ve found that some creativity and experimentation is key in discovering ways to wear it. From American Apparel to DKNY, there are several explanations of how to create a specific style, but I haven’t quite figured them all out. Additionally, I can’t pull off some of those looks because it’s a bit too wacky for my taste.

Excuse the wrinkles on the dress, I was trying to steam it out, but it didn’t exactly work out.

Directions to style the dress:

  1. Take the two top pieces and cross it in the back and bring it to the front.
  2. Twist the fabric twice and then bring it to the back of the neck and tie a knot.
  3. Adjust the height of the twists between the chest area.
7 Responses to “To Infinity and Beyond”

  1. shortcuts101 May 13, 2010 at 7:21 PM #

    Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That dress is absolutely gorgeous!!! Good job. And the red shoes are the perfect complement. A++ style all the way around!

  2. Drea May 15, 2010 at 5:22 AM #

    The dress is nice, but I love your shoes!

  3. Really Petite May 15, 2010 at 9:46 AM #

    What a cute dress! Love the shoes 🙂

  4. Really Petite May 15, 2010 at 9:47 AM #

    What a cute dress and love the shoes- it makes the outfit pop 🙂

  5. stylepint May 15, 2010 at 5:11 PM #

    Thanks everyone! The Kate Spades are one of my fave shoes! =)

  6. diaryofashopper May 20, 2010 at 6:06 PM #

    Oh, I instantly recognized those shoes! Those Kate Spades are adorable. Red shoes look so great with a simple black dress! I’m amazed that you made that dress yourself. It looks awesome!

  7. My So-So Life July 19, 2010 at 10:41 AM #

    Do u think u could take a pic of the dress without it tied and one of the back of the dress?

Leave a Reply

