Review: Theory Ibbey Pant

11 May

Just like finding a great pair of jeans, a great pair of trousers is just as difficult to find.

I wanted a pair of slim fitting pants in suiting material that was of good quality and fit me perfectly. I had marginal success with Banana Republic but I didn’t buy the pair because it didn’t make me feel special. They fit decently, but they were kind of…eh.

Thus, I wandered into Theory and tried on a few pairs of pants. It seemed like AlterationsNeeded and PetiteAsianGirl from ExtraPetite had success with jackets and skirts, but what about pants?

I tested out two pairs of pants in size 00 since last time I tried on size 0 pants, they practically fell off me.

At first glance, the Cerdwin K pant had good potential since they were considered “drainpipe” leg elongators. However, in size 00, the pant felt loose overall and had a gap in the waist area. It looked unflattering on my frame. Plus, in the Cupid fabric, the material composition was 71% viscose, 23% polyamide, and 6% elastane which meant that it had a stretchy, knit-like quality that felt a bit strange. I had to pass on this style.

Next, I tested out the Ibbey pant in Tailor fabric that consisted of a material composition of 96% wool and 4% lyrca. They looked and felt like suit trousers but they’re actually ankle “biters.” When I tried them on, they were the perfect length for me without any additional hemming. Additionally, the size 00 fit my waist perfectly without any gaps. The only thing I would change is that I would sew down the pockets so they don’t pucker out. Still, I had to get them.

I consider myself having athletic legs which means my thighs and calves are more developed than the average person. That being said, these pants would fit better if my thighs were a wee bit slimmer, but I’m not complaining, they’re the best fitting pants I have come across thus far.

Theory, I am a fan.

Ibbey Pant- Front View

Ibbey Pant- Side View

Outfit Details: Nordstrom tank – XS, Madewell cardigan – XS, Theory Ibbey pant – 00, Kate Spade Genny heels, Forever 21 fish pendant

4 Responses to “Review: Theory Ibbey Pant”

  1. PetiteAsianGirl May 11, 2010 at 9:26 PM #

    I love those pants on you and can’t believe the waist and thighs fit like that right off the rack. I own two pairs with the same silhouette and had to spend money to get them hemmed and also had to take the waist in on one. I reach for them season after season for work so I know you’ll get a lot of wear out of yours : ) You’re right in that their waist fit is always hit or miss. Glad to see you found a hit!

    • stylepint May 13, 2010 at 8:56 PM #

      Thanks! I have been checking Theory out more than usual and checking their items. It’s kind of strange how their fit changes depending on the style.

  2. Mich LA May 13, 2010 at 1:25 PM #

    Wow, agreed with PAG that they fit you so nicely! I’ve tried a few Theory pants, but had no luck. Some similar slim-fitting pants I’ve had luck with are the J.Crew Minnies. They fit me perfectly in terms of the ankle-length and are super comfy, but sometimes they’re a little too casual for the office. I will have to try these Theory ones the next time I see them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What style of pants makes you look slimmer? | cosmetic | Beauty | cosmetic surgery - May 13, 2010

    […] Review: Theory Ibbey Pant « Pint-Sized Musings […]

Leave a Reply

