A Shorter But Not Short Enough Haircut

6 May

I finally got a haircut since my head started feeling really heavy and I was getting headaches from the additional weight of my hair. I’m not really used to long hair anymore, so shorter is better.

Originally, I planned to get my hair cut like Carey Mulligan’s but since my sister’s graduation is coming up in a few months, I wanted to make sure I looked at least decent for the photos.

So, I reverted back to a style I know looks more sophisticated than my current one. I had a similar cut 4+ years go in New York, when I was there to visit a friend.

It looked pretty good then, so I asked my stylist for the same look, an A-line straight bob with slight layering. He did a fantastic job and I think it turned out even better than when I had it cut in New York.

It makes me look more professional than when I had longer hair. Now, I think I look more like a polished young professional instead of a immature recent grad.

Outfit Details: PacSun tee –  XS, Madewell vest – XS, William Rast Jerri Ultra Skinny Jeans – 24, necklace (gift from a friend)

Petite Tips:

I find long hair that flows past your elbows is too long for a petite. It can make you look younger and weighed down. But any length between your shoulders and the middle of your bicep is more than enough to keep you happy and looking great if you want a longer hairstyle. Lately, I’ve been bitten by the short hair bug so I’m attempting styles that will range from the shoulders up the the ears. The actual style may change depending on what my stylist suggests and my face shape.

For an A-line bob, since my face is pretty round, it’s best not to go much higher than a shoulder-length since it adds more roundness to my face. The slight layers take out the weight at the bottom to create lightness and avoid a triangle shape. Side swept bangs with a slight asymmetrical line polishes the look to keep it fresh and young. It’s a perfect summer haircut since it’s long enough to tie back and short enough to feel the breeze.

7 Responses to “A Shorter But Not Short Enough Haircut”

  1. Good Girl Gone Blog May 6, 2010 at 5:22 PM #

    Your haircut looks fantastic! (And your vest is cute too!) I’m getting that short hair bug as well. Only problem- my hair is curly! It’s one thing to have a cute, short bob if you have straight hair, but I always end up looking even younger when I cut mine short. Oh the dilemmas we face!

  2. Alterations Needed May 6, 2010 at 5:39 PM #

    Super cute! You look great with short hair! I just got mine cut pretty short too…it must be something in the air. =)

  3. PetiteAsianGirl May 6, 2010 at 5:48 PM #

    I LOVE your new haircut! It looks very chic. I agree that I feel much more professional with shorter hair, but I really miss the long hair.

  4. PetiteXXS May 6, 2010 at 8:07 PM #

    That’s a great haircut! It really suits you. I like the lightness of short hair but I can’t really pull it off. I have a huge head for my body size, and any kind of weight gain goes directly to my face, so I need the length and weight of long hair to balance out the roundness.

  5. MizzJ May 8, 2010 at 2:03 AM #

    Your new do is so cute!! It does make you look more older and professional, good choice. Your tip about not going too short if you have a round face is one I can also vouch for as my friend made that mistake and she looked 10 years old for awhile haha

  6. stylepint May 8, 2010 at 9:13 AM #

    Thanks everyone for the nice comments! I’m still getting used to the shortness….but I’m loving the cut and the ease of maintenance that comes with! =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Shorter But Not Short Enough Haircut « | The StylistFinder blog - May 19, 2010

    […] A Shorter But Not Short Enough Haircut « […]

Leave a Reply

