Review: Topshop Petite

4 May

Ok, I finally got sucked into buying something from Topshop online after seeing a couple of posts by PetiteAsianGirl at ExtraPetite.com. The styles are pretty trendy but I’m always wary of the quality especially since the pieces are quite pricey for me. But after scanning the website a few days, I decided to pick up one thing I really liked.

I got the Petite Meadow Peplum Tunic in Size 0. It’s the smallest US size they offer and I had to try it out.

When the package arrived and opened the box, I noticed that it did look just the photo, but the quality left more to be desired. The slip was more sheer and the tunic itself wasn’t as fitted as I was expecting. Once I find a nude full body slip, then I could probably wear it out as a dress. Still, it makes for pretty pictures.

It has a romantic, ballet-esque quality to it that I kind of like. It’s definitely different from the things I usually buy.

I’m still not completely sure how to style it since it gives me a 1920’s silhouette with the dropped waist. Also, the tunic is in that strange place where it’s almost too long to be a tunic and yet, a bit too short to be a decent dress.

Any suggestions on how to style this particular item? I’d much appreciate it.

Outfit Details: Topshop Petite Meadow Peplum Tunic-O, PacSun leggings- S, Pencey vest – XS, Madewell necklace, Steven Madden Tuxxedo oxfords

5 Responses to “Review: Topshop Petite”

  1. PetiteAsianGirl May 4, 2010 at 12:28 PM #

    Eeeks! I love it on you! I’m so jealous you got it in size 0 … just checked the link and saw that it is sold out.

    I agree that it’s right at the point where it’s too long to be a tunic and too short to be a dress. I would wear it over a simple, solid-colored fabric mini skirt (I’m thinking a pretty spring color, a taupe, mushroom, cream, or just white) the way Chloe has layered tunics/dresses over her F21 lace mini. Or possibly even a floral print mini. I think you could stitch one up in 10 minutes!

    • stylepint May 4, 2010 at 8:44 PM #

      Oh that’s right! I totally forgot about layering a mini underneath! Gotta test that one out! =)

  2. Good Girl Gone Blog May 4, 2010 at 1:58 PM #

    I think it looks cute on you! I like the idea of mixing really girly, lacy pieces with something more structured like a blazer or leather jacket!

    • stylepint May 4, 2010 at 8:45 PM #

      I’ve been thinking along those lines…but I haven’t found the perfect mix yet.

  3. MizzJ May 4, 2010 at 10:53 PM #

    You could try it with denim cut-offs for the summer months for a hippie vibe. It looks so pretty on you, you have to keep it 🙂

Leave a Reply

