Healthier Skincare Products

30 Apr

My cousin is a doctor on her way to becoming an endocrinologist. She visited me a few weeks ago and gave me some advice on skincare. If you want to maintain your youth, the best way is to take care of your skin. Wrinkles and a dull complexion adds age to your overall look. Plus, it doesn’t help that a lot of commercial makeup and skincare products contain chemicals that can be toxic or bad for your health.

She suggested some products that’s all-natural and toxin-free for me to try since she loves using all-natural things. For a while, she made her own cosmetics like lip balms and things, but since she’s so busy now, she doesn’t have the time. Still, there are so many things I’ve learned from her during her quick stay over here…I thought I’d share some of her top items.

Sweet Almond Oil

This oil makes a great moisturizer or a hydrating boost to creams and lotions. I use this as a night-time moisturizer since I don’t want to smell like almonds during the day. A few drops is just enough to cover my face and even a few drops added to regular lotions and creams makes it more hydrating. It absorbs fairly quickly into the skin so you don’t feel greasy.

Witch Hazel

Witch hazel has plenty of uses, but my cousin prefers to use this as a astringent or toner. It can also be used on acne, bruises, sores, swelling, dry skin, and other skin irritants. I did my best scouting for 100% witch hazel without any alcohol content and it was such a challenge. I was looking for a bottle without any additives either, but the Rose Petal one is the closest I could find in a brick and mortar store. I may have to resort online for the exact bottle I want.

Tea Tree Oil

Tea tree oil has been touted to help with acne, but it also has other uses as an anti-septic and anti-fungal. It can help reduce the effects of dry skin and reduce dandruff when added to shampoo. It has quite an aromatic kick to it, but once you get over the smell, it’s not so bad.

I’ve tried all three products since my cousin left the States. Since then, I have discovered that I love the sweet almond oil. It makes my skin feel smooth and more hydrated than it usually looks. The rose water witch hazel works well as a toner. However, I think I might be slightly allergic to an ingredient in it because my face was a little red the next morning. Perhaps when I find that plain 100% witch hazel, I’ll have a better idea of how it works. And though I have seen the effectiveness of Tea Tree Oil on acne, especially since I’m allergic to benzoyl peroxide, I dislike the smell. It’s so medicinal and pungent. It definitely takes some getting used to, but it surely wakes you up.

It’s quite amazing that you don’t need much for these items to be effective. In fact, a little goes a long way.

What are your natural make-up or skincare products and does it work?

10 Responses to “Healthier Skincare Products”

  1. Kerry April 30, 2010 at 5:30 PM #

    I use some more commercial natural products, like witch hazel (not pure, it’s TN Dickinsons), Say Yes To Carrots moisturizer (actually, it’s Say Yes to Cucumbers), but my favorite natural skin product is pure old granulated sugar – as an exfoliant. I read about it in Sassy magazine when I was a teenager – apparently sugar has mild antibacterial properties, and because it starts to dissolve in water it doesn’t dig harshly at your skin the way most commercial exfoliants do. Best of all – it’s practically free. I use about a nickel size scoop full with a bit of water to make a paste and use on my face. It works well and is gently enough to use daily but doesn’t rip your skin apart.

    • stylepint May 2, 2010 at 6:27 PM #

      Wow, I haven’t heard of Say Yes to Carrots, but they look amazing! I’ll have to check it out. Every so often, I use sugar and salt for scrubs but I add other things with it like honey or bananas. They work very well.

  2. MizzJ May 2, 2010 at 12:06 PM #

    Interesting post! The sweet almond oil sounds cool. I’m trying out an oil body moisturizer at the moment, but the problem I have with it is that the oil is very runny, unlike a regular lotion. Do you have the same problem with the almond oil and if so, is there any trick to applying it without having it run all over your hands?

    • stylepint May 2, 2010 at 6:29 PM #

      With the sweet almond oil, I use it on small patches of skin so I dip a Q-tip to absorb some of the oil and rub it onto the areas. When I want it use it as a facial moisturizer, I pour a few drops onto a cotton ball. It works great and you won’t get it all over your hands. =)

  3. Kerry May 3, 2010 at 5:09 AM #

    Per your cousin’s advice, I picked up some pure tea tree oil this weekend at Trader Joe’s. I have used TJ’s Tea Tree Oil shower wash, but that is not really the same thing as pure oil.

    You’re right about the smell – reminds me of someone’s attic, as it it sort of woody-meets-mothballs. I did just put some on a mosquito bite and the itch is subsiding – not one of the things it is recommended for but it seems to have a nice effect. I am going to try it on acne and see how things go.

    • stylepint May 3, 2010 at 9:42 AM #

      I didn’t mention that tea tree oil would treat mosquito bites, but it turns out…it is useful to reduce certain types of inflammation, burns, and insect bites/stings. And it’s a good bug repellent, but considering the smell, it might be a people repellent as well. =P

  4. Jenny May 3, 2010 at 5:20 AM #

    I read on another blog that you bought a petite dress form. Can I ask what brand? I am considering the one at Overstock and also the dritz twin fit. Thanks so much!

  5. Jenny May 3, 2010 at 10:31 AM #

    Thanks so much! We are very close in size, although I am 32 and everything is a bit droopier than it used to be:o(. I really appreciate the information and think your blog is great!

Leave a Reply

