Review: Lululemon

28 Apr

For the past couple months, I’ve been steadily increasing my workouts because I want to stay healthy and fit when summer rolls around. I know I’ll be heading outdoors and I need some additional strength and endurance to make it though without much pain or soreness.

Gradually, I’ve been venturing out into the activewear department in search of great fitting sportswear, namely, support tops and sports bras. Previously I had some success with Lucy, but I wanted more options. Being a rather busty petite, I can’t get away with just any type of top or sports bra. It really has to be moderately to heavily supportive, especially when it comes to high impact workouts and running.

I heard great things about Lululemon and I decided to save up some money and check out their products. As always, I checked their size chart and according to their measurements, I’m a size 2, the smallest size they carry. When I scanned the website and store for tops and sports bras in size 2, there were only three products that matched what I was looking for.

The Cool Racerback is a basic tank top with wicking abilities but no support. So, I’d still need to wear a sports bra underneath. I tried it on at the Lululemon store but I felt it unnecessary since I do well with regular tanks. Until I get into Bikram yoga, I’ll hold off on this tank for now.

The Power Y Tank caught my attention because it has build-in support even though the site says it’s low/medium support, I think it leans more towards the medium side. The removable cups pretty much sold me on the tank and I bought it. For a while now, I’ve been using it and I noticed that it’s great for workouts where you’re upright most of the time. I found this cut to be a bit low after some quick moves and it’s too revealing if I’m bending to do stretches. I personally wouldn’t wear a shirt over this tank…that just too much fabric to wear when exercising.

The Flow Y Bra IV looks just like the Power Y tank except that it’s shorter. I bought this one as well and it works just like the Power Y Tank with the same strengths and weaknesses. At least I can wear a tank over this without looking silly. During an intense session of yoga, I noticed that the sports bra started to feel a bit loose, but it does the job.

So after a little adventure into Lululemon, I am a fan, but I’m not as avid a supporter as others. If they could make more products in size 2 or even venture into the size 0 realm, I’d probably stock up on their items since I know they’re high quality and they look nice too.

Outfit Details: Lululemon Power Y Tank – 2, Champion shorts (Target) – XS

3 Responses to “Review: Lululemon”

  1. me in millions April 28, 2010 at 10:13 AM #

    The thing that sold me on Lululemon is that they do free alterations on their merchandise. I got a pair of yoga pants there… granted a little expensive (100+ for yoga pants???), but they’re awesome!

  2. Cher April 28, 2010 at 5:47 PM #

    Did you take a look at the Deep V Tank? I find that that style runs small. I’m a huge fan of Lululemon myself (but you probably know that already from reading my blog. LOL). I’m probably a little big larger that you though. I do well with size 4 (XS) tops and size 2 (XXS) or 4 (XS) in bottoms.

    • stylepint April 28, 2010 at 7:05 PM #

      Thanks for the suggestion! I’ll have to check that tank out. I tried other items in size 4, but it was too loose. Though the size 2 fits decently, it would be better if it was tighter.

Leave a Reply

