A Little More Grey

17 Feb

I’ve been a little under the weather lately, but that hasn’t slowed me down too much. For now, it’s bread, soup, water, and ginger ale until my stomach can take things of more substance.

Anyways, I’m in love with grey this season. From tops to accessories, I’ve acquired my season’s fill and with all these accoutrements, it’s easy to end up looking like a monotone crayon. But despite the dreariness grey may bring, adding a splash of color and fun accessories effortlessly transitions an outfit from winter to spring.

When it comes to playing with patterns and textures, I’m a newbie…but it doesn’t hurt to try. I wanted to create something feminine without looking too childish and yet appropriate for a casual cocktail night. I think this outfit hit it on the spot.

The blazer was a total steal at Martin + Osa’s…$20 on sale! I wish I wore this blazer more often, but it’s too dressy for most occasions due to the slight sheen of the garment. Still, I can’t stop myself from picturing other outfits that’s centered around this blazer. It works well for the office and great for fancier occasions, but it requires a bit more styling to dress it down for casual weekends.

In other news, I’m definitely reaching the limits of my point-and-shoot camera, and yet, I can’t bear to part with the money needed for a DSLR. Perhaps I can convince “someone” to borrow their Nikon D90 temporarily. Tehee!

Outfit Details: Martin + Osa Tuxedo Blazer 0, Hollister Tank XS, Thrifted/DIY silk bubble skirt, Urban Outfitters belt S (worn backwards), Madewell necklace, Cathy Jean gladiator heels

3 Responses to “A Little More Grey”

  1. PetiteAsianGirl February 17, 2010 at 2:57 PM #

    a-dorable! The longer jacket totally works on you because of the higher waisted skirt. What a great deal!

    • stylepint February 18, 2010 at 3:28 PM #

      Thanks!

  2. MizzJ February 21, 2010 at 12:39 AM #

    Great outfit! Greys are my favourite neutral as well, but your tips about adding splashes of color are really spot on!

Leave a Reply

