Troubling Trousers

10 Feb

I’ve been looking for a great slim-cut trouser for quite some time, but either I haven’t found one in my size or it’s out of my price range. To me, slim-cut pants makes work attire more stylish than the traditional trouser. Then again, I’m not a fan of a regular suit. On me, the most basic suit can be described as follows:

button-down shirt + trouser pants + fitted blazer = little kid playing dress up

The culprit may partially be fit, but I think it’s also due to my childish face. Instead of basking in woe, I’ll make the best of what I’ve got: traditional trousers and loose-fitting chinos.

Both types of pants can have the same cut but the material is different. Most of the time, I’m on the more casual side of business casual, but I don’t want to look too informal. I personally don’t like khakis, so chinos provide a nice alternative.

Anyways, I got these J.Crew Favorite Fit Everyday Chinos in 00P and they feel like wide-leg pants. The waist is loose, but it sits well at the hip, so I’ll make do without alterations for now. Usually, I stock up items to take to the tailors so it’s one big trip instead of a bunch of little ones. In the future, I’d look into taking in the waist and slimming the leg.

Where do you shop to find your favorite trousers?

Outfit Details: Banana Republic Silk Floral Wrap top XS, J.Crew Favorite Fit Everyday Chinos 00P, American Eagle cardigan XS, Qupid nude booties

Petite Tips:

When wearing a light-colored loose leg trouser, it’s best to pair it with a slimmer or darker top. A wrap top opens up the neckline while the tie defines the waist. A shorter dark-colored cardigan streamlines the silhouette and keeps everything balanced. It’s easy to look overwhelmed in loose leg trousers, but as long as the rest of the outfit is fitted, it maintains the correct proportions.

7 Responses to “Troubling Trousers”

  1. Alterations Needed February 10, 2010 at 9:04 AM #

    Ahhh…the never ending quest to find the perfect fitting trouser. I still have not found mine without having to invest in some major alterations. I always have to take in the waist and slim the legs/thighs. If they’re petite trousers, I at least don’t have to hem. It’s gets so expensive!

    Those are pretty good! I agree that slimming them a bit will really look great.

  2. ch3r February 10, 2010 at 9:36 AM #

    I find my trousers in one of three places. Aritzia, Jacob and Club Monaco. All Canadian stores. But Club Monaco has been more prevalent in the US lately and Aritzia and Jacob stores are sprinkled around in a few states. Aritzia and Jacob I can actually wear without too many alterations–just basic hemming. But Club Monaco needs quite a bit more work in the hip area. My problem is that I can’t wear petite pants because my natural inseam is too long, so I’m stuck with trying on regular women’s pants but they come nowhere close to fitting so that I can get them tailored without ruining the entire shape. Oh the frustration!

  3. PetiteAsianGirl February 10, 2010 at 11:40 AM #

    Aww…darn those baggy trousers. I’m not trying J.Crew bottoms ever again. I get all my slim pants from Theory … either the Theory outlet (there’s 2 rather close to you!) or an Off Saks or the like. They make lots of “skinny” or “slim” cuts in size 00 … which either fit perfectly, or require minimal waist alterations on me.

  4. stylepint February 11, 2010 at 1:11 PM #

    AN: Most of the trousers I already have are tailored since I lost weight in my midsection.

    ch3r: I’ve been to an Aritzia in San Jose, CA, but they only sell their casual line. I must look into Club Monaco.

    PAG: I’m done with J.Crew bottoms as well. But Theory, I’ve got to start checking out those outlets or Off the 5th. I’ve been to the Loehmann’s and they rarely have 00.

  5. Elaine, clothedmuch February 12, 2010 at 11:23 AM #

    I love the floral blouse underneath! And I like that you paired it with gray trousers. Love them!

  6. Alterations Needed February 13, 2010 at 7:21 PM #

    PS…Can’t wait to see your oxfords in action. I scurried over to the Steve Madden website and was sad to see they’re sold out in my size.

    • stylepint February 14, 2010 at 7:29 PM #

      I’ve been wearing them around all weekend and they’re super comfy.

Leave a Reply

