Just Keep Sewing…

29 Jan

So after watching the new season of Project Runway, I picked up my inspiration book and started a new sewing project. I’ve been bad posting up the finished products because usually, it still needs tweaking and after a while, I forget about it.

Anyways, I finished this project in ONE DAY…but that’s because I already knew what the finished product should look like. However, I estimated my fabric incorrectly and the band is short by 10 inches and really, it should be 15 inches longer. So it’s not as flexible as I wanted it to be, but it works. If I want to cough up the extra money to buy more fabric, I’ll fix it, but for now, I’m fairly pleased with the result.

What did I make?

An infinity dress version that’s similar to the one by Donna Karan. It has the same silhouette, but DKNY’s is obviously better constructed and without a back seam. The official DKNY dress costs $895.

There are other versions of this convertible style dress from Victoria Secret, American Apparel, Etsy, bridal boutiques…you name it…it’s there. But I happen to like Donna Karan’s version because it’s a bit more sophisticated.

It cost me about $45 because I bought 3 yards of expensive fabric that I didn’t fully utilize. I needed the 3 yards of continuous fabric for the band but I can make something else with the extra fabric, so really it’s less than $20 for the dress.

The Result

Outfit Details: DIY dress, Kate Spade Genny heels, Forever 21 necklace, Old Navy clutch

The length is longer than I’m used to wearing and it seems to demand super tall heels.

Do you think I should keep the length or go shorter?

General Instructions

3 yards of jersey stretch fabric. 2 pieces: band/dress. 1 hour (approximately)

  1. Cut dress piece of fabric into a 30″ x 40″ rectangle. (30″: length from beneath the bust to below the knee)/(40″: width of the garment…it’ll be taken in later.)
  2. From the middle of the 30″ side, make 3 pleats (about 1″) on each side facing toward the middle. Stitch in place.
  3. Cut the band piece of fabric into a 7″ x 90″ rectangle. (7″: top to bottom of bust…and then some)/(90″: 1.5 times height…I had mine at 80″, which was way too short for most styles)
  4. Set the middle of the band to the middle of the pleats. Sew the band to the dress. Leave a couple of inches for setting the back seam.
  5. Sew down the length of the dress to create the back seam. Adjust for your body type. (For me, the circumference was about 30″ and I tapered the dress at the bottom) That’s it!

16 Responses to “Just Keep Sewing…”

  1. Alterations Needed January 29, 2010 at 8:47 AM #

    That looks fab! How long have you been sewing? I had grand ideas of doing my own basic alterations…and even asked for and got a sewing machine for my birthday a year or so ago. But she sits on my kitchen table…collecting dust. I think I just need some lessons to get me going.

    I would take up the hem just a bit…just so it’s closer, or just at the knee.

    • stylepint January 29, 2010 at 8:33 PM #

      I’ve been sewing for quite a while, but I’m not very advanced. Most of the time, I just do basic alterations (hems and darts) or I make pillows. But I want to get better, so I’m practicing more with the sewing machine and I’m thinking of classes at the sewing arts center.

  2. PetiteAsianGirl January 29, 2010 at 4:07 PM #

    I really like the sophisticated silhouette of this dress! I agree with AN – maybe it would look better right at the kneecap because we are shorter than the DK model. Nice to see the Kate Spade shoes in action!

    • stylepint January 29, 2010 at 8:33 PM #

      It seems like raising the hem is good idea, I’ll take it up!

  3. Nic305 January 31, 2010 at 5:35 PM #

    Will U put up more pics of u weraring the dress?

    • stylepint February 1, 2010 at 2:12 PM #

      I’ll have more photos later on.

  4. Christine February 1, 2010 at 10:17 AM #

    I love the classic look of this dress…it’s too bad you can’t make the length convertible too because i like the length that you have but it might be more convertible if you shorten it a couple inches. Anyway the main point of this was to ask:
    Where are the straps? How did you attach them? Do you have pictures of the back to help with the sewing?

    Thank you

    • stylepint February 1, 2010 at 2:15 PM #

      I guess the length can be semi-convertible to make it like a bubble skirt or top. The straps is the band piece. Instead of making it like a halter style like the traditional infinity dress, I made it more like a strapless so the straps are in the back. I’ll add more pictures later.

  5. piglet February 5, 2010 at 5:22 PM #

    Wow, this looks amazing!
    I’ve been wanting to make one of these convertible style dresses for ages, but never got around to it. Will defintely have to try one now.
    And I like the length, it looks very elegant.

    • stylepint February 5, 2010 at 10:30 PM #

      Thanks for the compliment! I’m still debating the length, but I love the silhouette.

  6. Kristin B April 4, 2010 at 7:30 PM #

    This is just beautiful! I am so happy I found your blog, you give me the inpiration to pull my sewing machine back out and at least TRY to create again.. I’ve really put it aside for work but whats life without some fun thrown in? Thank you for posting your results!

    • stylepint April 7, 2010 at 11:57 AM #

      Thanks for stopping by! I don’t seem to have as much time nowadays to sew, but when I do, I love pulling out projects and creating something from scratch. It’s great to know that you can create something with a bit of thought and creativity.

  7. k8t May 11, 2010 at 2:40 PM #

    MORE pictures please!!! 🙂 I have to go to a wedding soon!

    • stylepint May 11, 2010 at 4:08 PM #

      You beat me to the punch! I’ll be putting up another style to wear the dress, but most of the other styles is experimentation.

  8. Rabia May 26, 2010 at 4:35 AM #

    Hi! I just found your blog today, and I love your sense of style. Also was looking for ideas and tips on making my own infinity dress, though I’ll probably go with a maxi version. Just a quick question – are the pleats meant to be at the waist side of the dress part of the fabric, i.e., on the 40 inch side of the rectangle? That would make sense so that the dress has a bit of shape once the band is attached.

    You’ve got a new regular reader now 🙂

    • stylepint May 26, 2010 at 8:26 PM #

      Thanks for stopping by! The pleats are in the center at the waist as a detail to give a bit of shape to the dress. =)

Leave a Reply

