Want to be European?

22 Jan

After finally watching “An Education,” it revived my aspiration to be European specifically, British, French, and Italian.

There is something innately chic about the way Europeans dress that seems contradictory to some American fashions I see everyday. Personally, I find Italians better dressed than the French from my limited travels. Even the tour bus drivers wear full suits in Italy! I can’t remember a time when a bus driver in LA was well-dressed, much less in a full suit.

Every day I wish I could pull together an “effortless, yet carefully planned” outfit, but that doesn’t happen. In fact, those days are really rare. I feel like a slob in jeans, tee, and flip flips and that’s not the worst fashion faux pas! Though, I have moved away from flip flops to its more fashionable cousins…the gladiator sandal, the moccasin, and the ballet flat.

Ideally, I want to have a closet where I can open it every morning happy that I have all these “friends” instead of thinking “I have nothing to wear!” I have a ways to go before I can get there.

By the way, I have a new-found appreciation of Carey Mulligan. Aside from “An Education,” she was awesome in the Doctor Who Season 3 “Blink” episode. I can’t believe she’s my age and she’s was nominated for a Golden Globe and is considered for an Oscar! Looking over a few her interviews, I find her adorable and refreshingly genuine. Perhaps I’m a sucker for a British accent, but I forsee great things for her.

I still can’t get her haircut out of my mind…come February, we’ll see if I join the ranks of short-cropped hair.

*Oddly enough, the boy doesn’t mind since he’s growing out his luscious locks for kids with cancer. Gotta love the irony.

This year is making it very hard to NOT buy shoes…

DecadesTwo is having a shoe sale on the 30th! If you haven’t heard of them, they’re a vintage/consignment boutique for designer goods. I went last year and scored 2 pairs of heels (like new Valentino and D&G) for less than $200 total. This year, it’s $150 a pair, or $50 for the special set where 100% of the proceeds goes to Haiti relief.

2 Responses to “Want to be European?”

  1. Kionon February 7, 2010 at 4:16 PM #

    I usually look to the Italians myself for inspiration. I find that they are the go to scene for Menswear.

    Also, bit of a grammarian nitpick, but I am an English teacher by day, fashion journalist by night:

    Every day = something you do each day
    Everyday = mundane, ordinary, boring

    The space makes a difference!

    • stylepint February 7, 2010 at 8:13 PM #

      Italian menswear is amazing! Thanks for catching the mistake, it must have slipped by when I was editing. I’ll fix it right away.

Leave a Reply

