A Shoe Update

13 Jan

My biggest shopping weakness is shoes…specifically heels. It’s a good thing I’m not rich because it hampers how much I can spend on footwear. But even if I did have a lot of money, I wouldn’t have as much as Christina Aguilera…that’s just excessive!

This year, I’m capping my shoe collection at 30 and the maximum price I’d spend for a pair is $200. Also, for every new shoe purchased afterward, it will hold to the “one in, one out” rule. Hopefully this will curb my addiction to shoes while making me more wary of the kind of shoes I purchase.

My shoe collection can be categorized into three categories:

  1. Cheap: below $30 – mostly sandals and “trendy, disposable” shoes from fast-fashion or discount stores
  2. Mid-Range: $40-100 – work  appropriate or all-purpose footwear
  3. Expensive: above $100 – boots, designer shoes, and shoes that I’ll wear forever

In 2009, I definitely fulfilled my boot collection. My faves:

Le Petite Sperone boots

Mare booties

By the way, I keep seeing other bloggers and celebrities wearing the YSL tribute pumps…it makes me want to get them…but they’re way beyond my budget. Sigh. At first, I thought Jimmy Choos and Louboutins were my dream shoes, but they’ve somehow fell off the pedestal. Manolos are classic, but Valentinos are eternal.

Someday I’ll have those awesome heels…someday.

5 Responses to “A Shoe Update”

  1. PetiteAsianGirl January 13, 2010 at 6:55 PM #

    Ooo! I want to see more of your shoe collection! So disappointed when it stopped after 2 pairs : )

    Good idea to split into 3 tiers … I can’t even think of the last time I paid $100 or more for shoes, which is a little surprising.

    • stylepint January 14, 2010 at 12:09 AM #

      Thanks! I’ll probably put up my full collection sometime soon, but it’s not that impressive.

  2. MizzJ January 13, 2010 at 8:19 PM #

    Sigh, I too dream of owning a pair of Tributes. I actually bought a very similar pair from Aldo, but I have yet to dare wearing them out b/c they are super high!

    • stylepint January 14, 2010 at 12:15 AM #

      I saw the pair at Aldo’s too but I didn’t get them. Are they comfy and do they really feel that high?

  3. Nish July 22, 2010 at 8:36 AM #

    I love your shoes and I love Christina Aguilera’s shoe closet 🙂

Leave a Reply

