All things Madewell

11 Dec

I’ve been eyeing Madewell recently. It feels like they re-vamped their collection this season and it looks AMAZING! J.Crew owns this brand, and definitely fits into that aesthetic…but there’s something more youthful about Madewell. It has a denim bar with many different jean styles and washes which makes it a great place if you’re looking for variety. Great basics and key statement pieces mix feminine stylings with rugged details at this store.

I love their style!

As I was meandering through the Century City Mall waiting for a movie to start…I stopped by the store. When I visited it last (summer), I was sadly disheartened. The smallest jean size they carried was a size 25 and even the slimmest cut looked baggy. I tried on several shirts and tees in XS and still felt it was too large for my frame. The Olsens can pull off the oversized stuff, but not me.

This time, I wanted to see what was in stock…pretty things to look at even if it’s big. A plaid shirt caught my eye and I quickly rushed to it. In XS, it looked perfectly sized for me and I had to try it on. For the top half of my torso, it fit well. The shoulders were in the right place…the sleeves were 3/4, but looked better rolled up to my elbows. The length hit mid-hip…which was what I wanted. But past the bust, the shirt was quite baggy. I preferred something more fitted and a couple of darts in the back would quickly remedy the problem. The price…$58!

Sigh.

I think they might have resized everything…or they just have XS sizes now…but things seem slimmer and fit better for me. The cardigans are still a big long in length and sleeve, but I kind of like that look. Boots are awesome…if I had a limitless budget…I’d buy every pair!

FYI, they’re doing a denim recycling program where you turn your old denim and purchase a new pair with 15% off.

Oh Madewell, you are my new window-shopping addiction!

4 Responses to “All things Madewell”

  1. MizzJ December 13, 2009 at 12:55 PM #

    That outfit you’ve shown is super cute! I like the mix of prepster with those rugged boots.

  2. Me January 16, 2010 at 2:01 PM #

    Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe! I’ll go and read some more! What do you see the future of this being?

    • stylepint January 16, 2010 at 9:54 PM #

      I believe that Madewell has re-oriented their target audience toward the younger generation and is keeping up with their market pretty well. It still has the all-American casual style, but it’s added more feminine and edgy pieces to their collections.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Bit of Plaid « Pint-Sized Musings - January 28, 2010

    […] I finally suckered in and bought a plaid shirt from Madewell. It was the one I walked away from previously, but I saw it again cheaper, so I got it. I added a couple of darts myself to make it fitted and it […]

Leave a Reply

