A Gift for the Home

27 Nov


It is Black Friday and I know there are many shopping their hearts out to get the latest steals and to finish their Christmas shopping. As for me, I am watching from the sidelines. Not only to save money but also because there isn’t anything I want that’s going on sale.

Since I’m home this Thanksgiving weekend to visit my family, I was reminded about the small comforts of home. It’s the intangible pleasures of life that really brighten up my day. Just seeing all my younger cousins getting older and soon heading off to college is another reminder that time does not stand still and will continue to push us forward.

But if I were to indulge in some retail therapy, it’d be in search of the perfect bath towel. I don’t know why, but a great bath towel uplifts my spirits and makes the rest of the day seem better. So far, the best I’ve come across are the Turkish Bath Linens from Restoration Hardware. It’s about $28 for a bath towel, but it’s so worth the money. The towels are the only reason I go to that store.

Another great find is the Royal Velvet Bath Linen Collection at Bed Bath and Beyond. For about $15, you can get an awesome bath towel made from Turkish cotton. Plus if you use the 20% off coupon, it’s even cheaper! Usually I wait for the sales and coupons so I can get these towels for cheap. Since I’m not picky about the colors, I mix and match as long as I don’t pay the retail price.

When people think of expensive, high quality cotton, they usually think of Egyptian cotton. For the most part, that is correct. However, Turkish cotton is just as great and it has a bit of a sheen. It’s all a matter of preference, but for me, Egyptian cotton has nothing on Turkish cotton!

Happy Holiday Shopping!

One Response to “A Gift for the Home”

  1. Louise | UPrinting.com December 4, 2009 at 1:44 AM #

    Oh.. bath towels. One of the many necessities in life that we seem to neglect. LOL! I want a nice bath towel too… 🙂

Leave a Reply

