Being Green and Saving Money

25 Nov

Piggy savings bank by alancleaver_2000

I’m thinking a lot about money this week.

I want to be better with my finances and maximize my net worth. I’ve been horrible keeping my shopping budget but I will pare it down and reign in my bad habits.

This is a peek into my New Year’s Resolution (it’s early but quite necessary!)…I’m trying to lower my essential expenses, increase my savings, and spend less on non-essential items. I want to be more environmentally sustainable by using less plastic, limiting my red meat consumption to once a month (max), and being more aware of my wasteful habits. I want a more minimalist lifestyle in which my base expenses are as low as possible which frees up my finances to plan for my future.

As with all goals, it’s best to have smaller short-term goals that contribute to the big one. My most recent goal is to make my shower toiletries more eco-friendly…a la LUSH. So far, the goals are listed by increasing difficulty in finding alternatives.

  • No bottled shower gels or body wash: Going back to soap bars, maybe shower jellies and solid body scrubs later
  • No bottled shampoo: The solid shampoo bars are working well so far
  • No bottled conditioner: I haven’t tried solid conditioner yet, but I have a feeling this will remain in bottle form
  • No canned shaving cream/disposable razors: Not sure how to go about this one…

Annual Savings: $100+ and 36+ plastic bottles

The next step is limiting the amount of disposable items I use like paper towels, Kleenex, face wipes, cotton balls, sandwich bags, plastic wrap, etc. I can’t get rid of disposables altogether, but I can certainly cut back! I’m thankful for what I have, but it’d be better to have less junk.

Hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

One Response to “Being Green and Saving Money”

  1. Letterhead Printing | UPrinting.com November 26, 2009 at 12:04 AM #

    Good luck with the New year’s resolution.

    Same here I’m planning to start my new year with a much solid financial management. Gotta double up my savings. The resolution to save the planet is also a good idea, in fact you inspired me to include that in my resolution list. I think everyone should include that on their own list.

    For the shaving cream, hmm I don’t know if this will work for you but I used mild soap like Dove as an alternative to shaving cream.

Leave a Reply

