Tis the Season

23 Nov

Window into the holidays by -liyen-

The holiday shopping bonanza has begun!

I see people roaming the malls looking for deals and coming out with multiple bags as if the companies are giving things away for free. I know, with Christmas coming up, everyone’s being told to shop and buy everything in time for the holidays…still, it makes me wonder, are we really valued by our gifts?

We are such a consumerist economy that we rarely have a holiday that doesn’t involve buying something. I fall prey to it too, but I must resist. It’s not a frugality issue, but one of sincerity. Yes, I care about people, but I don’t need to show my appreciation from something I bought at a store. To me, a thoughtfully written note is better than any store-bought Hallmark greeting card.

For my friends, instead of physical gifts this year, I’m thinking of other ways to show my appreciation no matter how close or far away they are from my location.

So, I’m trying my best to NOT get anything this Black Friday…unless the the Nikon D40 is on sale somewhere.

Leave a Reply

