Scanning the Kid’s Section

9 Nov

A while ago, I heard that Gap revamped their classic 1969 jeans so that it should fit everyone. I’m petite, so I know that pant hemming is a must. The petite sizes are only available online and according to the Gap size chart, I should be a OOP/OP in pants and XXSP/XSP in top. I’m not sure if I should try online shopping at Gap…is it worth it? It quite depressing going to the brick and mortar Gap store loving the styles, but hating the fact that everything was TOO BIG.

Luckily, the GapKids section was a floor away, so I headed over to see if I would fare better. I don’t usually get kids-sized clothing because I’m pretty sure people can tell that it’s kid’s. Some styles are able to transcend the “kid” look into something that passes for adult. Still, I get strange stares from some salespeople and a couple of chuckles, but where do you expect me to go when “adult” sized stores fail me?

I heard that Stella McCartney was doing a collaboration with Gap Kids and the styles seem quite mature for those youngsters. Chic, trendy, and cool…but so…adult. The prices are about the same as regular Gap prices, which I assume is partly accounted for by the collaboration. I’m pretty skeptical when it comes to diffusion lines and collaborations because I’m never sure what the quality is going to be like. But since it’s Gap, I figured it has to be on par with Gap quality…not H&M, Target, or Walmart quality.

I went into the kids  department and found a couple of items that could pass for adult apparel.

stellagap

The overall collection was pretty varied, a couple of basics, some fun prints, and rockin’ outerwear…Stella McCartney did a pretty good job. Plus, the quality wasn’t cheap at all. I’m not sure how true the collection is to her actual line, but it seems to showcase some of her signatures. For example, the jaguar sweater is similar version of one found in her own collection.

I wanted to test out the blazer, but there was none to be found! However, I did try a pair of super skinny jeans in size 14, and a gray cardigan in medium…and they fit almost perfectly. The cardigan was just right, but the jeans were two inches too long. Also, for non-skinny jean styles, I could fit into the size 12, which was kind of weird. Overall, it was quite an enlightening experience to find clothes that fit…only it was GapKids.

Has the world grown that much taller and wider since I last went shopping? I remember several years ago, in middle school and high school, I had grown out of GapKids size 16….and now, I’m a 12/14? Oh how vanity sizing rears its head in the kids section!

I guess I’m not totally against kids sized clothing…as long as it doesn’t make me look like a little kid.

3 Responses to “Scanning the Kid’s Section”

  1. Bunnie November 9, 2009 at 11:30 PM #

    Wow! I’m impressed that you can fit into so much kids clothing. I went shopping today and tried on a boys faux leather jacket… It was super cute but fit like it would a boy! You must be such a cute little package! My big butt barely fits into petite woman sizes! Damn.

    Thanks for the suggestions about LA! I’ll def look into them.. and I am trying PinkBerry for SURE!!!!

    xo

  2. Online Printing Company November 20, 2009 at 7:02 PM #

    I know some friends who still shop at the kids section because adult-sized clothes won’t ever fit them. Haha!
    It’s amazing to see that even kids can now dress up like those ladies from Gossip Girl. I wore awkward sneakers when I was 6. XD

    • stylepint November 20, 2009 at 7:28 PM #

      It’s pretty crazy how kids clothes increasingly resemble adult clothes. I guess that’s the benefit of being smaller, you can pay less for the same thing if it’s a kid’s size.

Leave a Reply

