It’s all in Plaid!

28 Oct

I’ve been seeing plaid everywhere I go and although I’ve been really hesitant to love plaid, it’s starting to grow on me. From the buffalo check plaid, to the traditional flannel…it’s all gravy. But also, I realize that the best form of plaid that really hints at luxe is more subtle than most varieties. Whether in a neutral color or muted pattern, I’m all about taking the blue collar plaid pattern and making it a luxe statement.

With this pattern, it’s easy to make it a grunge or lumberjack-y, but it takes some care and effort to make it upscale. So look for ones cut on the bias to give it a diagonal flare or a deep dark jewel tones to add some depth and subtlety to plaid.

Here are some of my fave examples for less than $50. You can be fabulous and chic without breaking the bank!

Plaid

Plaid by stylepint featuring Forever21

3 Responses to “It’s all in Plaid!”

  1. justalittlepiece October 28, 2009 at 9:40 AM #

    I like the jacket and the bag. I’m having a difficult time really getting excited about plaid though. I feel hill billy.

  2. Brochures October 28, 2009 at 6:58 PM #

    What’s great about plaid is that you can be classy but funky at the same time. As far as feeling like a lumberjack, I think it depends on how a person carries the dress.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Bit of Plaid « Pint-Sized Musings - January 28, 2010

    […] in What I Wore | Tags: bootcut jeans, madewell, plaid, shirt A while ago, I was raving about plaid. Well, I finally suckered in and bought a plaid shirt from Madewell. It was the one I walked away […]

Leave a Reply

