Pocket Size

23 Oct

funny-pictures-kitten-asks-you-to-put-you-keys-somewhere-else

In the elevator the other day, an elderly woman approached me and said, “Gee, you’re tiny!” I wasn’t sure how to respond, so I made a vague answer. Most of the time, people don’t really mention my height as a point of interest.

I hear silly jokes about my stature every once in a while and it’s no surprise when people give me random nicknames ranging from shrimp to pocket Asian. But does it really do any good?

They say the average American woman is about 5’3.”  I’m only two inches shorter, but people make it seem like it’s abnormal to be so small. Perhaps it’s because I don’t have the girth or the presence that can make people think I’m bigger or taller. Or maybe it’s because I don’t like to wear high heels all the time, especially when I’m running errands or going grocery shopping.

Despite it all, I’m pretty comfortable with my height. I don’t feel disadvantaged because of my height…at least, not yet. As long as people respect me and treat me like they do everyone else, I don’t really expect any special treatment.

Every blue moon, someone ruins my day by saying something like, “Be careful, it’s windy out, you don’t want to blow away!

But rarely does it happen, and I’ve learned to look back and laugh.

Yea right, I’ll fly away…like Mary Poppins.

7 Responses to “Pocket Size”

  1. Alterations Needed October 23, 2009 at 9:04 PM #

    Ahhh…the old “you’re tiny” moment…let’s see, I know I must have some good ones to share…

    My freshman year of college, a complete stranger ran up behind me, picked me up, spun me around in the air, and put me back down on the ground. He ran away saying, “I’m sorry…you’re just soooo TINY!”

    A sales associate at Saks Fifth Avenue said to me, “You do a really good job of dressing like an adult”. This was just a month ago.

    Pocket Asian…ha! I like that one!

  2. Elaine, clothed much October 25, 2009 at 7:25 PM #

    Wow…that’s awkward! I’m 5’3″ and I’ve accepted it. I’ve stopped growing since my sophomore year. My Asian parents are both at least 5’6″ so when I stopped growing, they freaked out and fed me dried sardines for a while.

    • stylepint October 26, 2009 at 3:05 PM #

      My parents tried to get to play basketball or volleyball in the hopes that jumping around would make me taller. I’m thinking sardines do the same thing. =P

  3. Tayler October 26, 2009 at 7:29 AM #

    I am a shorty too and i love it. Great post 🙂 🙂 🙂

    enter to win $75 in makeup on my blog!!!

    I will be back on urs, us shorties need to stick together ha

    xx,
    fashionlayne

    • stylepint October 26, 2009 at 3:05 PM #

      Thanks for stopping by! I’ll definitely check out your blog! =)

  4. Business Cards October 29, 2009 at 7:39 PM #

    Sometimes, other people can be really rude to small people like us. There are disadvantages to being small, but we don’t have to be teased or insulted for it. Now, go make yourself feel good by calling some tall dude King Kong. Haha~ 😀 Just kidding.

    • stylepint October 31, 2009 at 8:41 AM #

      Haha. I guess some people just don’t know what else to say except those awkward comments. =P

Leave a Reply

