Review: DuWop Private Red Lipstick

12 Oct

The seasons have officially changed at the beginning of October. In LA, everyone is breaking out sweaters, jackets, scarves, mittens, hats, and boots. There are a few stragglers who still cling onto their gladiator sandals, neon nail polish, shorts, and tanks…but those are either die hard beach lovers or people whose bodies haven’t acclimated to the LA lifestyle. For some reason, a five degree weather from 72°F change up is causes people to wear short shorts or five degrees down brings out winter snow jackets.

Anyways, with fall comes the classic makeup staple of the red lipstick. Perfect for evening, but a bold statement during the day, the red lipstick, though classic, can be tricky.

Often, people are never sure what color works well for them, sometimes, it’s too orange or too blue. Usually, I had to try on several colors to find one that seemed right, but even then, I wasn’t sure. If it was too orange, I’d look like a clown but too blue would plummet me into the pool of Gothic wannabes.

Thus enters DuWop Private Red Lipstick.

PrivateRed

According to Sephora:

Private Red
What it is:
A unique, color-changing lipstick that morphs to each woman’s personal, private red.

What it does:
Private Red’s formula adapts to each person’s unique chemistry and will adjust accordingly, providing the perfect red shade that complements each person’s coloring. The silky lipstick goes on smooth and the rich pigment leaves behind a slight stain so lips stay red.

What else you need to know:
Private Red is more than just the perfect red lipstick, it moisturizes lips with castor seed oil.

How To Wear It

When wearing red lipstick, it’s best to keep the rest of the face pretty clean. That means, go easy on the blush and the eyeshadow. The way I prefer to wear red lipstick is pairing it with a dark brown or black eyeliner, mascara, and maybe a contoured cheek. But definitely, have stronger brows to balance out the face. If you want to add a bit more drama, add false lashes and darken the contoured cheek. The look is very reminiscent of the 1920s-1950s.

My opinion

This lipstick does work wonders! At first, I was cautious, so I only put a light application. It was pretty light, creamy, and smooth on my lips. The color was bright red at first, but slowly darkened to a bright cherry red. As the day wore on, the stain kept most of the color on my lips and not on my cup. The next time I tried it, I put a normal application, two coats I guess would be the best explanation. The color this time was darker, it was more maroon red color, but it was appropriate for a nice evening out.

I’d recommend using a lip liner or a lip brush to help apply the lipstick to the edges and corners of the lips. It does leave a stain, so it’s better to apply less and add more, than the other way around. One of my attempts was to exaggerate my lips which made me look like the Joker, even after I tried wiping it away. Not a good look for work.

Overall

I give this lipstick 4/5 stars.

Great changes of color that compliment skin tone, but does leave a stain if overzealous with the application.


Leave a Reply

