Into the Flatlands

9 Oct

I love flats but I’m pretty picky about them. The pair I owned were Steve Madden ones, but they fell apart after six months of almost daily usage. So, I’m looking for a new pair to last me a couple of years. Despite my love for cheap deals, I think I really should spend more money on quality flats because not only are they made of better quality materials, they should last longer and feel more comfortable.

Some things I look for when shopping for flats:

  • A supported sole: most flats have a thin sole or base which makes it feel like you’re pretty much walking barefoot around town. I prefer to not feel every bump and stone while walking about the neighborhood…so a thicker sole is great to have.
  • A vamp with non-toe cleavage: this is the part of the flat that covers your toes…and I’m not a fan of toe cleavage, so I want a longer vamp
  • A little heel: most flats have a really short heel, but even a little extra can add to the comfort of the shoe and helps it last longer
  • A semi-round, semi-pointed toe: for some reason, rounded toe flats make me feel very childish and pointy toed  flats make me feel vampy…so something in-between like an almond toe is just right.
Here are a couple of my options:
Castañer Ballet Flats
YOOX $108
  • Sueded
  • Rubber sole
  • Bow detailing
  • Narrow toeline

Castañer Ballet Flats
YOOX $225

  • Sueded
  • Rubber sole
  • Bow detailing
  • Narrow toeline

J.Crew Charlie ruffled suede flats
  • Italian suede and finished with a gathered ruffle at the toe
  • Man-made lining and sole
  • Made in Italy

Via Spiga Otis 2 Flat
Nordstrom $185

  • Feminine bow adorns a calf-hair flat fashioned with a black-and-white crocodile print
  • Calf hair upper/leather lining and sole
J.Crew Kelcey suede ballet flats
J.Crew.com $98.00
  • Italian-crafted ballet flats are trimmed with metallic piping to give them a hint of shine
  • Suede upper
  • Man-made lining and sole

I have five options, I’m not sure which one to pick just yet, but I know my max budget is $200. I’m really leaning towards the Castañer ones since they’re so pretty and yet, affordable in certain colors.

Which one should I pick?

Leave a Reply

