Channeling Coco Chanel

4 Sep

For some reason, I’m in the mood for 1920’s inspired clothing. When people think 1920’s, they think of flapper and gangster attire. But there is so much more to 1920’s fashion than those two things.

Even though I’m considered one of the guys, I rarely dress like one of the guys. Every now and then I have a t-shirt, jeans, and sneaks day, but for the most part…I dress like a girl. I challenged myself to wear shorts, skirts, and dresses (no pants!) this summer to become more comfortable in my own skin. But with all the outfits I’ve been wearing to adopt the hourglass figure, it’s become a bore.

I know, figure flattery is the main idea these days, but what about trying different silhouettes? Instead of accentuating the typical hourglass figure, what about creating a boyish one? I’m temporarily trading in my femininity for a seemingly flat chest, slim hips, and a broad shoulders.

Thus, it brings me over to the Coco Avant Chanel film. Many believe that Chanel embodied 1920’s fashion and embraced an era that freed women from physical and political constraints. After checking out a couple of the stills from the movie, I want to channel one of her outfits. Nothing fancy, nothing over the top, but simple.

coco_before_chanel07

Since I’m on a shopping hiatus, I’m rediscovering some items tucked away in storage. It’s funny how something can seem new again because I haven’t worn it in a couple of months. As for the Chanel outfit, I do have similar clothing options but nowhere nearly as expensive as actual designer apparel.

My Outfit:

  • Derek Heart (T.J. Maxx) Dolman Top ($9)
  • Martin + Osa Knife Pleated Skirt ($19.95) + ($20 tailoring: take in waist/overall slimming)
  • Payless Colorblock Pumps ($14.99)
  • Vintage Pearl Necklace

Petite Tips

A loose fitting top balances out a structured skirt. A scooped neckline enlongates the neck and shows off the collarbones. Vertical pleats lengthen the body line and extend your frame. Also, pumps are better than t-straps and mary janes because they extend the leg line instead of cutting it shorter.

2 Responses to “Channeling Coco Chanel”

  1. Kelly September 7, 2009 at 2:40 AM #

    Great skirt! I love vintage silhouettes!

    • stylepint September 8, 2009 at 11:57 AM #

      Thanks! The skirt was a great buy and totally worth tailoring! =)

Leave a Reply

