Busting Out the Ol’ Sewing Machine

24 Aug

I was bored this weekend and decided to finish up one of my sewing projects. Since I’m pretty petite, it’s sometimes easier to do certain alterations on my own than to send it to the tailor. Usually, I hem my own jeans and slim down baggy shirts.

Today, it was to create a bubble skirt. A while ago, I went to Crossroads and picked up an amazing dress for $7. I wore it once, maybe…and ever since, it’s just been sitting in my closet. It was a silk, trapeze-style dress that was a little long, but with a belt, it ended up looking decent.

Anyways, I wanted to make this piece more versatile by turning it into a skirt. It was simple enough, just add an elastic waistband and that was it! In the end, it turned out pretty good despite being a bit long. For now, it’s a high waisted bubble skirt and it’s perfect for me!

What do you think?

Currently Wearing

  • Forever 21 blue racerback tank $5.80
  • Forever 21 silver chainlink necklace $6.80
  • DIY bubble skirt $9 ($7 Crossroads, plus sewing materials)
  • Aldos Grey Patterned Pumps $60
3 Responses to “Busting Out the Ol’ Sewing Machine”

  1. mylittlebecky August 29, 2009 at 9:52 AM #

    i wish i could do anything with a sewing machine… this is super cute!

    • stylepint August 30, 2009 at 1:34 AM #

      Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Little More Grey « Pint-Sized Musings - February 17, 2010

    […] Details: Martin + Osa Tuxedo Blazer 0, Hollister Tank XS, Thrifted/DIY silk bubble skirt, Urban Outfitters belt S (worn backwards), Madewell necklace, Cathy Jean gladiator heels Possibly […]

Leave a Reply

